Atlanta’s Snowing Trees

No matter the source, yellow snow is gross. And inhaling it is hard on your sinuses.

Right now, Atlanta is in the midst of it’s annual yellow snow season. Cars that normally look black or blue are looking yellow and green. Storm drains are surrounded by small yellow sand dunes.

Is it a plague? It is if you’re allergic to Oak tree pollen. Yes, Atlanta is literally covered in tree pollen, it happens every year, and until a year or two ago, I would have never, ever believed it. I’ve spent the majority of my life in areas heavily populated by trees- the Pacific Northwest, and to a lesser extent, Malaysia- and I’ve never seen anything like this before. Now I wonder how many locations in the U.S. and around the world “enjoy” a yellow snow season.

UPDATE: My timing on this post couldn’t be any better, Atlanta is experiencing record pollen conditions!

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.