Atlanta’s Snowing Trees

No matter the source, yellow snow is gross. And inhaling it is hard on your sinuses.

Right now, Atlanta is in the midst of it’s annual yellow snow season. Cars that normally look black or blue are looking yellow and green. Storm drains are surrounded by small yellow sand dunes.

Is it a plague? It is if you’re allergic to Oak tree pollen. Yes, Atlanta is literally covered in tree pollen, it happens every year, and until a year or two ago, I would have never, ever believed it. I’ve spent the majority of my life in areas heavily populated by trees- the Pacific Northwest, and to a lesser extent, Malaysia- and I’ve never seen anything like this before. Now I wonder how many locations in the U.S. and around the world “enjoy” a yellow snow season.

UPDATE: My timing on this post couldn’t be any better, Atlanta is experiencing record pollen conditions!

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg!

3 Comments

  1. Kim & Sophie said,

    March 28, 2007 at 9:26 pm

    I moved to Atlanta in December and I’ve been wondering what all the yellow stuff on my balcony is! I live on the 9th floor, so I thought it couldn’t possibly be from the trees below me! It’s all over my balcony and on the outside wall.

    I’ve also noticed lately whenever I turn my air conditioning on (it’s on a low level on the balcony) my eyes burn like they have sand in them and water and my nose gets runny. I guess this explains it! Thanks for this!

  2. brianhewitt said,

    March 29, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Hi Kim & Sophie,

    Thanks for the comment, I’m glad I was able to help you get to the bottom of the yellow plague :)

    I live on the 30th floor of my building, and I would have thought the same thing you did… all’s clear up here. No chance. My wife left a window open and we had a little yellow sand dune in the window track!

    We’re experience record pollen conditions, as of today in fact- so I’d recommend getting a better filter for you air conditioning system!

    Brian

    P.S. If you’re new to the area, have you learned what Kudzu is yet? That was a complete mystery to me for my first year here.

  3. March 21, 2008 at 12:15 am

    [...] This sudden blast of reproductive dust is just the opening act. Looking back through the archives, it was just about this time last year that the yellow blizzard hit us. It coats everything. Lungs, cars, small woodland critters, big woodland critters. You name it. It [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

