Sugar? Nope, pass the Miracle Berries.

Miracle Berries

This morning while I should have been driving into the office I was reading a story in the WSJ about a “miracle berry” the Synsepalum dulcificum that somehow enhances your tongue’s sweet receptors so that for a prolonged period of time after eating it (or gargling with it, as seems to be more the way it’s used) everything tastes sweet. Raw lemons, limes, grapefruit, just pick a sour citrus. The most intriguing taste experiment to me was the stout beer + miracle berries = milk shake. I really wanna try that.

Apparently, experiments are underway to harness the power of these berries. All I want to know, is what color will the little packets be? Sugar owns white. Splenda has yellow. Nutrasweet’s got blue. And the controversial Saccharin is all about style in pink.

Check the article out here (membership required, *sigh*).

Want to know a bit more, but don’t want to subscribe? I found this page, and another place that says it sells the seeds. Note: I haven’t verified the information at either site, nor do I endorse the purchase of anything there. Enjoy!

Somewhere Goji berries are secretly plotting their revenge against this upstart star of the berry world.

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg!

5 Comments

  1. Cigar Jack said,

    April 2, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    There is a herb out there that supposedly is very sweet and had no calories also. I may have to try and grow some. For the life of me though I can’t remember the name of it.

  2. brianhewitt said,

    April 2, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    From what I read, I think they sell clippings of this berry. Evidently it’s not terribly difficult to get it growing. If you think of the name of this other berry, let me know, I’ll update the post with some links to it.

    Now the real question is, what would it be like to smoke a cigar after trying out some of these Miracle Berries? It seems like it could go either way- good or bad. It’d be a shame to turn a good cigar into a Swisher! If I get a chance, I’ll give it a shot and post the results.

  3. Dana Riemer said,

    April 26, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    I heard about this on NPR a while ago. I researched and found a couple of places online where you can order the seeds. Further research showed that, at least to grow them in the land o’ beer and coffee, you would need a greenhouse, or, to bring them in during the winter and whenever the thermometer dips below 40ish. (They are, after all African berries…)
    I’m not sure that they would change the flavor of a cigar. It seems that they only change the flavor of sour or bitter things. Lemons taste like lemonade, etc. The NPR spot did say, however, that it did make a bologna sammich taste like cake. Yum. Bologna cake!

  4. Brian said,

    April 27, 2007 at 10:38 am

    Greetings Oh Short Annoying One (A.K.A. Dana)-

    I’ve been thinking about it, and it does seem like a heck of a lot of effort just to make things taste like cake. I have an idea, why not go to a bakery and buy some cake? When you get home, you can slap some bologna on top.

    The do something much like that at Voodoo Donuts in Portland- Maple bars with bacon on them. I haven’t had one yet (hard to get there from Hotlanta), but they’re very popular. If you haven’t tried it, you should check the place out, it’s on 3rd just off Burnside.

  5. July 6, 2008 at 7:17 pm

    Hey if anyone doesn’t feel like waiting around for their miracle fruit to grow, you can get in on a shipment of miracle fruit tabs which have the exact same effect, you can Buy Miracle berry tabs here


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

