What Are The Top Ten Blogs Worth?

Recently I ran across a post on Dane Carlson’s Business Opportunities Weblog that lets you calculate the worth of your blog (via BabyChaos) by submitting it’s URL. Of course, there’s no way to resist the attraction of knowing, in nickels and dimes, how my schizophrenic posts on lolcats, cigars and crazy beards is worth. I was impressed, my blog is worth more than I expected. In theory, anyways.


My blog is worth $1,129.08.

How much is your blog worth?

Wow. For a minute, I had delusions of retiring to blog for a living. Of course, this figure is just monopoly money. It looks really great, but it won’t buy you an americano when you need one. Since it’s not actually worth anything, I thought it might be fun to use it as a yardstick to measure my blog against Technorati’s top ten blogs.

To save you the effort of doing this yourself (I’m all about convenience), here are the figures.

  1. Engadget.com – $15,510,736.50
  2. BoingBoing.net – $11,645,895.66
  3. Gizmodo.com – $10,410,117.60
  4. TechCruch.com – $10,068,006.36
  5. HuffingtonPost.com – $7,941,384.18
  6. LifeHacker.com – $7,989,370.08
  7. ArsTechnica.com – $7,344,100.86
  8. PostSecret.blogspot.com – $6,736,091.28
  9. DailyKos.com – $6,627,699.60
  10. MichelleMalkin.com – $5,826,617.34

Total Value of the Top Ten: $90,100,019.46

Interestingly enough, though the HuffingtonPost is listed as more popular on Technorati, LifeHacker is actually worth slightly more money. I wonder how that works. (Both the rating scheme and the value calculation are based on statistics from Technorati.) Also amazing is that #1 Engadget is nearly 3 times as valuable as #10 MichelleMalkin. The gap between Engadget and #2 BoingBoing is also the largest in the top ten.

Of course, I can’t just stop there, I need to know the stats on some other websites I frequent.

And no post of mine would be complete without some mention of cigars. I’m building a pretty good list of cigar themed blogs in Google Reader, here’s some of my current favorites. (If you’re not on the list below, I may not have found your blog yet!)

It’s interesting to compare the differences in calculated values between the cigar blogs and other blogs out there. The gap in values doesn’t surprise me, after all, cigar smoking is still very much an offline activity. And most major manufacturers still have a very minimal and sometimes primitive presence on the web.

[UPDATE 5/18/07: I just realize that I left off the single most important, hard hitting news blog out there: I Can Has Cheezeburger. I.C.H.C. is worth $893,102.28.]

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

11 Comments

  1. May 1, 2007 at 1:24 am

    Mine was worth $18,065 and change… not too shabby! Found ya through the “next” button here on WordPress, btw…

  2. Brian said,

    May 1, 2007 at 11:42 am

    Hi startlingmoniker,

    I didn’t even realize there was a next button! (It took me a bit of looking to realize it’s that arrow up in the top right corner. :oops: ) Very cool indeed. Hopefully, you’ve liked what you’ve read here enough to visit again from time to time.

    Impressive total- Especially for being at it for 6 months! I’m looking forward to getting up there myself… both the dollar amount and the 6 months. :)

    Brian

  3. babychaos said,

    May 2, 2007 at 4:28 am

    Oh how I wish my blog was “worth” millions of dollars… not that I’d sell it really, I mean, it’s a bit of a brain dump!

    I’m looking forward to reading some of your posts about crazy beards! ;-) I have a secondary blog devoted entirely to amusingly shaped vegetables!

    Cheers

    GC

  4. babychaos said,

    May 2, 2007 at 4:28 am

    Or even BC… can’t type my own name!

  5. Brian said,

    May 2, 2007 at 10:43 am

    A blog devoted entirely to amusingly shaped vegetables?! I must link to it immediately! :) Don’t forget to check out my post Nora, the piano playing cat… it’s another ridiculous essential.

    The thing about a tool like this is that it really doesn’t affect reality. A blog is actually only worth what the buyer and seller agree it’s worth. If there isn’t a buyer, the blog is worth $0! (Or £0, in your case. The exchange rate just doesn’t help out with 0.) I wouldn’t sell mine either, but I haven’t seen any offers yet. ;)

    Cheers,
    Brian

  6. Cigar Jack said,

    May 2, 2007 at 5:31 pm

    I’m I doubt my blog is worth $100… anyone got $100. I have a great site you just have to have. It is going to be the next digg!

  7. Brian said,

    May 2, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Hi CigarJack-

    I’ll gladly pay you $100. You stay in charge of the blog, I’ll take a cut of the ad revenue and the cigars! :)

    Actually, when I ran your blog through it, I got $10,726.26. What URL did you try? I ran it on http://www.cigarjack.net

    Brian

  8. May 18, 2007 at 12:18 am

    $11k! Wow! Thats awesome! Who do I see to collect that check!?

  9. Brian said,

    May 18, 2007 at 9:29 am

    Hi Jerry,

    Man, I wish I knew. My blog has increased to $2,258.16 since then! So I’ll probably hold off on cashing in for a while, because it’s only gonna go up. :)

    Besides, I wouldn’t want you guys to sell the site off yet, I love your video reviews!

  10. Brian said,

    May 18, 2007 at 11:17 am

    Wow, I just checked again (accidentally, I swear!), only hours later, and suddenly this blog is worth $21,452.52! :shock: I don’t know what I did between 9:30 this morning and 11:15, but I’m gonna try to do it again!

  11. July 16, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    [...] statistics. My favorite being the “How much is my blog worth calculator“. Of course, this isn’t the first time I’ve tried this thing out. Previously this blog came in at a handy little figure of $1,129.08. So lets see if I’ve made [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

