You Asked For It: Diamond Crown Maximus Toro #4

Diamond Crown MaximusThis truly is the review that everybody’s asking for. Over the past week, I’ve gotten at least 4 search hits for this cigar, which invariably lead the searcher to my earlier post Ashton VSG Robusto vs. Diamond Crown Maximus Toro. Unfortunately, that post, while honest, isn’t probably as informative as the searchers would like. In keeping with my new policy to always smoke every cigar twice, I intend to supplement that post now.

One quick note: I didn’t intend to write this review just yet. But I was so impressed with my smoking experience (the flavors), especially when compared to the last time, I couldn’t wait.

Cigar Stats
Size: 6 x 50
Wrapper: Natural (El Bajo Sun Grown), Ecuadorian
Country: Dominican Republic

The Pre-Smoke
The cigar had a pleasant aroma before lighting. I did notice a small crack running up from the end of the cigar, which was disappointing. I didn’t notice that through the cellophane wrapping when I purchased it. Otherwise, it was a good looking cigar. It also felt very solid to the touch. There was only a small amount of give to the cigar.

The Burn
After I thoroughly toasted it, and lit it, I noticed immediately that it was burning unevenly. An odd section of the center and one side of the cigar didn’t seem to take. Strange. I relit it and that seemed to correct it. More burn problems emerged in the first third of the cigar. At one point, the cigar nearly went out, even though I was smoking it at a slightly faster than regular rate. That burn oddity left a blackish ring in the ash, and it was noticeably crooked.

The initial ash dropped a lot sooner than I would have expected; barely making it to the second third.

For the majority first third and the beginning of the second third, the cigar burned unevenly. The cigar then corrected itself, and burned evenly until the final third. In the final third the burn got really uneven and a significant crack formed in the wrapper. Shortly before I put it out, the ash itself frayed, and a section split away from the main column. [UPDATE: Thanks to an awesome article and picture gallery posted on StogieFresh.com, I now know this is is called "flowering".]

In spite of burn irregularities, the draw for the entire cigar was perfect. Never too hard, never too little smoke, just right.

The Flavor
From the very beginning, I loved the flavor of this cigar. It was creamy. Heck, it was like smoking butter for the first half. Hints of Almond and maybe Apricot started to pick up at the half way point. I also detected what seemed like nutmeg and cinnamon in the middle of the cigar. The flavor started to develop into a richer more earthly flavor with additional hints of spice and pepper toward the end, while still maintaining an element of the original creaminess.

The Strength
I’ve seen this cigar called medium to full, but it struck me as more of a mild cigar, right up until the end. And I smoked this cigar until it started to burn my fingers. The final puff or two might have made it up into the medium strength range. This is a cigar I could smoke over the lunch hour, and get back to work without feeling impaired in the slightest.

The Price
The only reason I’m adding this section is that I’m seeing people pay crazy prices for this cigar. Some poor unfortunate souls have been paying $15, $16 or more for this cigar. And as a result, they’ve been a bit disappointed. I paid $13.95 for this cigar at a local, strip mall cigar shop. And I still think I paid a little too much for it ($10 or $11 seems more reasonable). I guess if these people live in one of those states that loves persecuting tobacco customers, it could be taxes causing people to pay so much.

My Conclusion
I have to say that the construction is very disappointing for the price, again. But I loved the flavor and the draw of this cigar. I didn’t want to put the cigar down, even when I was clearly done with it. Heck, my wife even liked the cigar. She stopped by and had a puff off of it not once, but three times.

I think the price is too high for this cigar, but I can see myself picking up another one from time to time in spite of its shortcomings, to smoke on a lazy Sunday afternoon. Everything about this cigar says warm Sunday afternoon at Lake Lanier (possibly on my good friend’s boat :) ).

What Other People Say
Hey, I know I didn’t fill you in on all the details you might want to know about. There’s quite an interesting bit of background information on the cigar, if you’d like to check it out. Here are some links I found:

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

7 Comments

  1. lucky7 said,

    May 12, 2007 at 10:37 pm

    Good Review.

    I do like this cigar. Have to say, the first I had was 3 minutes out of a B&M and I experienced the same erratic burn issues you describe. Liked them so well I bought a box online (for $8.76 a stick by the way), gave em’ about 2 months in my humidor to stabilize and haven’t had a burn problem with any of them. You need to give em’ a little TLC and they pay you back in spades.

    lucky7

  2. Brian said,

    May 13, 2007 at 11:54 am

    Hi Lucky7-

    Thanks!

    If I can get them for $8.76 a stick, I may too pick up a box sooner or later. Even with the burn issues, I really, really enjoyed this cigar. I’d probably even put up with those burn issues every time.

    Man, $8.76 and a better burn… man, you’re killin’ me. Or more accurately you’re gonna make me do something that will make my wife kill me! :)

  3. lucky7 said,

    May 13, 2007 at 12:50 pm

    Well, at risk of your death, probably should not provide this info but …

    http://www.cigarplace.biz/shopping-cart.cfm/ses_/c,list,x,111,570,x,x,x,x/Diamon%20Crown%20Maximus/Diamond%20Crown%20Maximus/

    They offer $1 shipping on all orders the 1st of every month.

    good luck with the wife … lucky7

  4. Brian said,

    May 13, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    Thanks again!

    Fortunately I’m spared almost certain death due to lack of stock- no more Toro #4. However they do have the robusto size, at about $7.23 a stick. Tempting. Maybe they’ll have more of the toro on the first- can’t miss that dollar shipping. That’ll give me plenty of time to try out the robusto and the pyramid.

    Brian

  5. May 14, 2007 at 1:33 pm

    [...] but I think it’s a great Sunday afternoon smoke. It shares some similarities with the Diamond Crown Maximus Toro I reviewed earlier (including construction issues), but comes with a much more reasonable price [...]

  6. May 22, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    [...] Diamond Crown Maximus Toro #4 [...]

  7. May 23, 2007 at 12:44 pm

    [...] Diamond Crown Maximus Toro #4 [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

