ACID Blondie: The Gateway Cigar Or Clove Smoker’s Friend?

ACID BlondieIt’s taken me quite a while to get to this review. And there’s a couple of reasons for that. To begin with I decided that since this was both a relatively inexpensive and unusually flavored cigar, that I’d smoke at least six of them. The first two or three I’d just enjoy without taking any real notes so I could kind of develop a feel for the cigar. Then I’d start paying attention and taking notes.

The other reason for really dragging this out is so that I could try to puzzle out the unusual flavors. Your standard “nutty”, “woody” and “coffee” descriptions didn’t seem like they’d be useful descriptions of this cigar. And the standard cigar flavor wheel may not be all that helpful either. So to help in my efforts, after smoking a few, I went to the incense section of my local Bed, Bath and Beyond and started sniffing around. I think that helped somewhat, which sort of made up for the headache it gave me. Anyway, I’m not sure I actually nailed the flavors, but I definitely got closer by the final smoke. I give myself an A+ for effort.

Cigar Stats:
Size: 4 x 38 (Short Panatela)
Wrapper: Cameroon, Honduras, Indonesia
Binder: Nicaragua
Filler: Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua
Price: $3.33
Smoking Time: Around an hour

The Pre-Smoke
For the most part these cigars were very consistent in appearance with a smooth, extremely light colored wrapper that borders on being yellow. The majority of them also had a nice oily sheen with the occasional small bump here or there.

The cigar itself has a very soft feel, generally feeling a bit harder at the head (probably due to the cap). There was some unevenness in the feel in all the cigars, but I only one of these cigars had serious burn issues.

I only had one issue with cutting the cigar. In the very last one, after cutting the cap, I got a ridiculous amount of tobacco fragments in my mouth. Brushing the clipped end and even tapping it wasn’t enough to prevent this unpleasant introduction to the cigar.

The first thing you will notice (guaranteed) with the cold taste is the overwhelming syrupy sweetness of the wrapper. In the cold draw I of course detected that sweetness, but also an interesting minty coolness in the back of the throat.

The Burn
In the first two thirds of the cigar, The Blondie burns a nice, fairly even pace with a attractive solid ash. But in the final third it trends toward a faster more erratic burn, often with flowering or flaking ash.

If this is a cigar you decide to smoke to the nub, there’s a good chance you will need to relight or touch up in the final third.

The Flavor
OK, now for the hard part. In the first third of this cigar, the sweetness dominates. Initially, it’s all syrup. But as it smokes it evolves into a flavor that is reminiscent of a honey-clove mixture. At different points I also tasted flavors like orange peel and ginger. The mint that was present in the cold taste was not present in the smoke that I could tell. The flavor is somewhat comparable to “African Amber” incense I’ve smelled in my “tour de stench” at the Bed, Bath and Beyond. Not quite, but pretty close.

In the second third, I noted that one cigar tasted an awful lot I was smoking Dr. Pepper. The sweetness had diminished somewhat, and more of a spicy ginger, clove and occasionally cedar hints were present. In one cigar I actually felt a slight tingling sensation on my tongue.

In the final third it starts to get interesting. Many of the previous flavors are still present, but less powerful. The cigar actually starts tasting like a traditional cigar just before the very end with elements of caramel and wood. In one cigar, the special infused ACID flavors were all but gone in the final couple of puffs. Because of this, I can see the possibility that a smoker who enjoyed this cigar, may be lead to try traditional, natural-wrappered cigars if they find the final third especially pleasing.

The Price
I paid a premium for these guys, buying them loose from a pricey cigar shop, but even at the inflated price, I don’t think they’re a bad deal. It seem more expensive for the faster smoker (I do prefer to smoke my cigars more leisurely than most), but for me it seems reasonable.

The Verdict
I have mixed feelings about this cigar. To be honest, I kind of got tired of smoking it. (Which also contributed to the time it took to write this review.) The flavors are just too strong. It’s kinda like getting punched in the mouth by a drunk, honey-covered Winnie the Pooh. It’s kinda cute, but kinda unpleasant at the same time. Don’t get me wrong, I did enjoy it at times too, particularly when I was on the road. I guess I could say it’s a good cigar to smoke when you’re busy doing other things. :)

I can see myself buying a Blondie or two again sometime in the future on a whim, but this isn’t a cigar I’ll ever buy by the box. Especially given that it is not a cigar that plays nicely with other cigars. Keeping them around is a bit of a nuisance, you really do need to keep them in a completely different humidor from your traditional smokes. Or you can do what I’ve done, keep them in a zip lock bag with an inexpensive humidification element.

Oh yeah, one other thing. You will likely feel this cigar the next day. The day following smoking one, my throat was a noticeably rougher than after smoking traditional cigars. It could be just some sensitivity I have to one of the infused flavors, but it’s also something to look out for.

Quick Summary
Liked It: YEAH, SORTA
Buy It Again: MAYBE (only for immediate smoke)
Recommend It: YES (To anyone who likes clove cigarettes or other herbal smokes. Shorty, if you’re reading this, you should try one of these guys out.)

What Other People Are Saying
There aren’t a lot of reviews out there for ACID cigars, which isn’t surprising. A lot of cigars smokers either dislike flavored cigars, or simply don’t take them seriously. Which is a good part of the reason I reviewed this cigar! I’m all about bucking the trend. ;)

My Other Reviews
You may also be interested in my reviews of the following cigars. To see a full list of my cigar reviews, visit the cigar review index.

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

12 Comments

  1. stinkie said,

    June 26, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    I agree with you about having mixed feelings on the Acids. They are defiantly different, I enjoy a change of pace but they get to be a bit much. They have a nice smell if the wife or non smokers are around but I would never light one up at a cigar bar.

    Nice review.

  2. Brian said,

    June 27, 2007 at 1:15 am

    Thanks stinkie,

    Yeah, I’m probably going to hold off on smoking them until I the next time I meet up with my ACID smoking friend. (I owe him an Extra Ordinary Larry.) Well, that and reviews. I may review another odd-ball cigar in the future just to mix things up. I definitely wouldn’t light one of these guys up anywhere I wasn’t looking to be kicked out. :)

  3. Mark said,

    August 7, 2008 at 5:49 pm

    I have smoked Acid Blondies for a number of months now, having been introduced to them by a close friend. They definitely fall into a love/hate catagory. Personally, I love em, but I can see how the true afficianado might take offense. Great review, and spot on.

  4. Rob said,

    September 6, 2008 at 9:31 pm

    I bought the cigar sampler tin with them in. A couple of them I got sick off of. I got real light headed, and just ended up throwing up. Would there be any reason that happened? I ordered them off of Thompsoncigar.

  5. Dawid said,

    April 5, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    Last night I did not have any cigars on me and I was going to a club so I knew I would have a long time before things started getting interesting, so instead of going home I decided to try one of these. When I first took it out of the wrapper it had a great feel to it. The wrapper was delicious. When first started smoking, it had just an awful taste. It is just hard for me to describe this because it was just that bad. I could not get through the first half of the cigar and I just left it. I really wouldn’t recommend this cigar to anyone, especially a beginner like myself.

  6. Stinkdyr said,

    June 8, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    I was given an Acid Earthiness to try. The Good: It was well-made corona, and burned evenly with solid ash. The taste and aroma of the smoke were both medium body, smooth and likeable. Now for the Bad: The taste of the infusion on the lips was so strong and syrupy I almost couldn’t stand it. I really expected the taste and aroma to follow suit, but strangely it was JUST the taste of the wrapper on my lips that was so overly strong. If they had toned that syrup down about 90%, then I would say they had a great formula. As it is, I do not recommend it.

  7. Christian said,

    June 24, 2009 at 12:35 pm

    I like the acid cigars by Drew Estate. They never disappointed me and their price is not too high. I prefer the acid kuba kuba the most.

  8. Jacob said,

    June 24, 2009 at 1:16 pm

    You are right. Drew Estate Cigars are really good and worth their money.I think they deserve their place in any collection and / or humidor.

  9. Tony Blake said,

    September 27, 2009 at 4:48 am

    I recently started smoking DE Acid’s & Tabak’s (as well as their lower priced Isla Del Sol line)… Normally I smoke stronger “straight” cigars but I enjoy flavored cigars too as they are a nice break from the heavier cigars I tend to smoke…

    I find DE cigars to be nicely made and smoke well, never had a plugged one yet… I like the Kuba Kuba & 1400CC as well as their Tabak Toro’s & Robusto’s (both Dulce & Negra)… the “Blondie” is a nice 20-30 minute smoke that is enjoyable late night with an ice tea or maybe a craft boutique root beer (unfortunately I don’t drink)… if smoked to the nub it can give you a light buzz but it’s not something that will make you sick… I prefer the bigger DE’s than the size of the “Blondie” — for something similar I’d rather smoke either one of their C-Notes or on of their Krush Classic’s (which are great for a nice quick smoke when you go out to clubs or driving)…

    Overall I personally give the blondie a 7/10…

  10. Troy Maki said,

    December 27, 2009 at 2:04 am

    Smoking the DE Blondie right now. Really something new for me. This is so far a quality made cigar, regardless of how much ‘cute-n-candy’ is infused. As for the price of this item, I unfortunately had to buy for $6+ because I didn’t want to test more then one, and can’t see spending the $ required to even get a sampler if it turned out that I really can’t stand them. Then again, we men usually spend most of our days providing and working hard for those we love the most, so I think we can treat ourselves now and again. :)

    Tony B: I too don’t drink – but for some good reasons I wouldn’t consider it unfortunate any more. I’m sure you know what I mean. But for others out there, are there good sources for pairing ‘virgin’ beverages (coffee, teas, coco) with cigars? I’ve seen very few sources for even pairing them w/alcoholic drinks.

    Thanks all,
    Troy

  11. Ed Gouin said,

    May 28, 2010 at 6:28 pm

    Hi Folks,
    I just came across this review. I just wanted to let you know that Cigars-Now.com has Blondie on special this weekend (Memorial Day weekend 2010). A whole box of 40 Blondies for just $99.95. With shipping, we’re only talking $2.70 per stick! Since we made a special deal with Drew Estate in order to offer this special price, it is very unlikely that you will find this deal anywhere else. The sale will last until our stock is sold out.
    Enjoy!
    Ed

  12. Ty said,

    October 4, 2010 at 2:10 am

    I can’t imagine someone reading a review for a cigar they’ve never tried would be interested, but, Famous has bundles of 40 Blondie’s for $99 right now too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

