Your Chance To Tell Brian Where To Go!

So I’m planning a road trip. But not just any road trip. This is gonna be a multi-day, 2,600+, cigar-smokin’, sight-seeing, exotic-beer drinking extravaganza! You read that right, 2,600 miles or more! Just how far will that take Brian? Well, the plan is to drive from Portland, Oregon to Atlanta, Georgia and hit a bunch of interesting sights along the way. And you know that no road trip is complete without a good crew. The current roster consists of my wife (who thinks this might be a waste of time and money), my good friend, and recent cigarillo aficionado “Monkey Poo” Harris (MPH for short) and myself.

Road Trip 2007

Anyway, the reason for the vague number of miles is that we haven’t yet figured out exactly where we’re going to stop along the way. The simple door to door trip is 2,596 miles. Of course, detours rack up mileage quickly. (Memo to myself, use trip odometer to figure out just how far we go.)

I’ve compiled a list of things I’d like to see, but I have a feeling that I’m forgetting some stuff. As these things go, once you’ve gone on a trip, somebody invariably asks you if you stopped at some amazing, can’t-miss attraction you either forgot about or didn’t know about in the first place. In an attempt to prevent as much of that as possible, I’m looking to you, dear reader, to give me some suggestions. So this is the chance you’ve been waiting for, tell Brian where to go! (Keeping in mind that my car is not fitted with a drill bit.) ;)

Oh yeah, I guess you might find it handy to know a bit about the destinations we’re already considering for this trip. You’re in luck, there is a list. A very, very optimistic list. We’ve got a week (and change) to do this thing, so there’s quite a few places that won’t make the cut due to time constraints. But it’s good to have a list. Lists are fun.

High Priority Sights
A combinations of places I haven’t been, and a few off-the-wall places that should make for some good pictures and funny stories.

Booze or Cigar Related
Yeah, this list is pretty small still. I think we’re going to wing it once we’re on the road. I’m sure there’ll be a ton of interesting pubs and cigar shops we’ll bump into on the way. Feel free to recommend one!

Lower Priority
Places I’ve either been to, or places far enough out of the way we just may not have the time to see.

A thought occurred to me the other night as I was compiling this list. Wouldn’t it be fun (and possibly cost effective) to have sponsors for a trip like this? As long as we’re going to be sipping bourbon, swilling ale and herfing across the U.S. why not make it a dual purpose trip? I could see us having the names of respected coffee, cigar and alcohol establishments (or websites) prominently displayed in the windows, or temporarily affixed to the doors of my car. I know we probably couldn’t give away alcohol, but we probably could hand out some cigars, kinda like honorary cigar reps. I’d be fun, but I have no idea who you’d talk to about something like that. If you happen to be somebody who knows something about that sort of thing, feel free to let me know. :)

Want to sponsor our roadtrip? Here are some ideas:

  • Send us some shirts, we can either wear them or give them out along the way.
  • Send us a bunch of cigars. We’ll smoke some of them and hand out the rest.
  • Send us some cash for gas and accommodation.

Anybody who does, will have name, brand and/or website displayed prominently on Brian’s chariot for at least a week! Is this a great idea or what? :)

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

16 Comments

  1. JoeDrinker said,

    July 2, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    I envy you (yeah, so what else is new, right?). Last fall I had a similar trip planned from Boston back to Phoenix, but it fell through. My trip was based more on client’s locations, so I could write it off. The second criteria was going to be the best places to eat…I gave my friends/co-workers my itinerary and said within 200 miles of these points, where’s to go? Someday…

    Back to the question at hand – that of your trip. Grand Canyon seems like it’s a little out of your way, but completely worth it. One big breathtaking photo op. Charge the camera.

    Las Vegas is fun, but only for a couple of hours. And unless you have a day to recover, probably too much time for the trade-off if you want to do it right.

    Mount Rushmore is interesting too, but more of an educational interesting than a “Wow!” thing. Just make sure you’re not there during the annual Harley Davidson road trip to Sturgis. It adds a while new dynamic that I’m not sure is totally worth it. Trust me. I just know.

    I’ve been to the Gateway Arch, and while it’s kind of cool, I’m not sure it would be worth too much a detour if your not going right past it. I was there over the Fourth of July a few years ago, and that was fun. Humid as hell, but fun.

    I drove all the way to Yellowstone one time, and it was closed. Yeah, that’s what I said too. And then some. So I’d add it to my list, but that’s just me. I’d rather see nature than man-made stuff, if given the chance.

    You probably need to do Graceland, just to say you did it.

    Just giving a westerner’s opinion,

    JD

  2. stinkie said,

    July 2, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    You could always swing up to Cincinnati for some smokes, corn hole (stop thinking that! It is also called drunk horseshoes) and maybe a day at Kings Island, they have the worlds tallest, longest and fasted wooden roller coaster you know :).

    I have been wanting to take a trip like that for years but between the kid and work who has the time? Well I guess you…

  3. July 3, 2007 at 9:41 am

    Washington DC…I’ll take you to see the WW2 Memorial.

  4. July 3, 2007 at 10:18 am

    I see you’re planning on hitting a couple of the distillery tours. I have a co-worker who just returned from the area and said the Woodford Reserve distillery tour is a can’t miss. I think she hit them all and said it was the best.

  5. Nicole said,

    July 3, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    I wanna send you some Pinch My Salt T-shirts!!! But, I haven’t created them yet :-) When is the trip?

  6. Brian said,

    July 3, 2007 at 4:51 pm

    JD: Any post that makes you envious, is a success in my book! :twisted: I agree, I think there’s just no avoiding the Grand Canyon. I just need to make sure to service the brakes on my car before visiting. Vegas is really out of the way, but I’m still tempted. I’ve been there, but I’ve never been to this renegade Casa Fuente I keep hearing about. I think that decision may have to be made on the road. :)

    Stinkie: Cincinnati is more or less on the projected path, we just may have to do that. Corn hole! LOL!

    Jerry: DC is definitely waaaay out of the way. But I’ve wanted to go there for so long, we’ll do our best to swing through! I just may take you up on the trip to the WW2 memorial! :)

    Brian: Woodford Reserve, sounds like a plan. Kentucky bourbon is all over the road trip plan. And on the map. And a little bit on my desk too.

    Nicole: You’re in luck, you have plenty of time to make t-shirts! We’ll be on the road at the end of August. I, for one, will be happy to wear a Pinch My Salt t-shirt! :)

    Thanks everyone for the great recommendations!

  7. flotsam said,

    July 4, 2007 at 2:21 pm

    Sounds like a great idea. Are you just considering such a trip or have you started actively planning it?

  8. emon said,

    July 4, 2007 at 2:56 pm

    Cool! I wanna send some emonome t-shirts too and think of other ways to sponsor your trip as well.

    Are you ‘My Map-ping’ your trip on Google? It would be cool for us to check out where you are and also the latest pics right on the map.

  9. Brian said,

    July 4, 2007 at 4:29 pm

    floatsam: Actively planning it. The tickets to Portland have been purchased, and it’s just a matter of determining where to stop along the way, and for how long. It’s definitely happening, one way or the other.

    emon: Cool thanks! I guess I should probably email you and Nicole my mailing address so you can actually send them. If you have other ideas, I’m open to those too! :)

    Good idea. I’ll look into mapping it on Google also. I guess you can upload those directly onto Google maps now, can’t you? And I’ll definitely have my camera and laptop along for the ride…

  10. Emon said,

    July 4, 2007 at 7:12 pm

    Yes, you can edit text and upload images (just like a blog) directly on the map’s place markers I think Picasa lets you post images directly to the maps – however not sure if you can embed slideshows. I was able to embed a YouTube video of the 2005 Medieval Festival on a Washington Heights map I’m trying to put together.

    Yes, please email me your address. e***@gmail.com [Edited for your inbox's safety! :)]

  11. July 6, 2007 at 2:44 pm

    [...] Have You Told Brian Where To Go Yet? 6 07 2007 The Cigar Maestro will be traveling cross-country and is open to suggestions about places to visit. [...]

  12. July 6, 2007 at 2:45 pm

    [...] I encourage everyone to go out and get plowed for a week. (Yep, I was already gonna do that on my previously mentioned road trip, but hey, now I’m spreading awareness, man! Instant [...]

  13. willmacc said,

    August 13, 2007 at 9:57 pm

    I suggest the Corvette Museum in Bowling Green, KY if you get up that way…

  14. Brian said,

    August 14, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    Thanks for the time willmacc,

    That sounds great! I know we’ll be cruising through KY, but we haven’t nailed down the exact route yet. (Some of it’s probably going to be up in the air until we actually hit the road.)

  15. August 22, 2007 at 1:58 pm

    [...] to get up some pictures of the recent Blue Havana II herf, but I just haven’t had the time. The road trip approaches, and I’m scrambling to get ready for that and keep up with all my obligations [...]

  16. September 3, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    [...] Brian had announced his cross-country tour couple of months ago and asked if anyone would be interested in sponsoring his tour with T-Shirts, [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

