The Third, The Fourth And The Simpsons Road Trip Crew

Antoni Gaudi’s Sun MosaicWell I hope you have your bottle of Madeira wine ready! Why, you ask? Ah, I see you have forgotten. No problem, your humble blog-esponent is here to keep you on track. As I mentioned in a previous doozy of a boozy post, Madeira wine, due largely to it’s incredibly long lifespan was, the beverage the founding fathers of the United States used to toast the signing of the Declaration of Independence. (I just knew I should have held off on that post until July!) Friends, allies, and anybody who is indifferent but wishes us no harm (I’m thinking about you Switzerland), feel free to join in. :)

So happy 4th of July, and happy birthday America! Cheers! :D I hope you all will join me in reflecting on the freedoms we have that we take for granted. (And for cigar smokers, some irritable grumbling regarding our eroding freedom to enjoy a fine stogie.)

So I don’t have a long an interesting post to share today. I just thought it would be terribly negligent for me not to post something. Even in spite of the previous evening excesses. The highlights:

  • A Rocky Patel Vintage 1990 Toro – After smoking so many 1992’s, I was surprised at the flavor. Very different than the 1992. Initially, I think I like the ’92 better flavor-wise, but I have quite a few more to try before I decide. I will say that I’m disappointed by it’s burn. Very uneven in both my and my friend’s cigar. And mine just didn’t want to stay lit. It could have be the conditions, so again, I’ll wait to pass judgment on it until I have a few more.
  • Port, Muscat, and Argentinean Malbec Wine – The port was your average resturaunt fare, nothing special. The Malbec was enjoyable, but it was the Muscat that really impressed me. I’ve never tried it before, and I really enjoyed it. Like port, it’s a dessert wine, but was a noticeably different flavor. But I’ll be damned if I can remember what that was. Yep, it was that good of a night. ;)
  • A Sancho Panza Double Maduro Quixote – I picked this one up because it came recommended as a good value purchase by one of the guys from The Stogie Review on last week’s Dog Watch Social Club show (download it here). It smoked like a dream. Though it didn’t strike me as particularly complex, I really enjoyed it, especially after the naughty Rocky Patel. I’ll have to pick up some more.
  • A Don Benigno Petite Robusto – According to one of the guys in the local tobacco shop, it was the best cigar in their humidor. I’m not sure that I agree with that, but I did find it interesting. My initial thoughts was that it was kind of like smoking movie popcorn. It was creamy, and I got a noticeably salty flavor from it. Very unusual, fortunately I have another to try to see my palate was blown by all the port and scotch. :) (Note: The one I smoked was the size of the petite robusto, but had the band of the Perla. No such cigar is shown on the website.)
  • 30-year old Ardbeg – A very smooth, but peaty single malt scotch, provided by an extremely generous friend. I’ll consider it payment for my cigar consultation in the humidor earlier in the day. ;)

And now, on a completely unrelated note, kudos to Emon for alerting us to the Simpson’s Avatar maker! I started screwing around with it, and before you know it, I’d made the avatars for the entire roadtrip crew! And here it is, for your viewing pleasure. Now run out and make your own. Hurry, don’t miss the fireworks!

The RoadTrip Crew
From left to right: “Monkey Poo” Harris, Brian and Brian’s hot, exotic wife.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.