Dubai Palm Shaped Resort Islands Now On Google Maps

The Palm JumeirahPerhaps you remember reading about the fantastically expensive resorts the United Arab Emirates. You know the ones that were being built on manufactured islands reclaimed from the ocean shaped like palm trees? Well, if you don’t, here’s a couple of articles (ABC and USA Today) to bring you up to speed.

But because your time is valuable, and here at Brian’s Random Thoughts we’re all about giving you the most for your money (I’ll assume the check is in the mail), here’s the executive summary:

  • 100 mansions on each palm frond.
  • Estimated capacity: 120,000 residents.
  • Nothing going for under a cool million bucks.
  • Built on land reclaimed from the sea.
  • 32 hotels. (Including Trump International hotel.)
  • A water park.
  • A mono rail.

But there’s two things you probably don’t realize. The first is that there are two three of these reclaimed, palm shaped islands! Two! Three! I don’t know about you, but just one of these guys blew my mind. Hey, it’s good to know our gasoline dollars are being put to good use. (And I’m gonna need a place to stay once I’m fantastically rich.) ;)

And to prove it, I need to bring up the second point: Two of these crazy cool resort islands are now on Google Maps! (That’s where I got the picture for this post. Doncha just love Google?)

Here’s some quick links to the resort islands:

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

6 Comments

  1. Tiffany said,

    July 9, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    “You know the ones that were being built on manufactured islands reclaimed from the ocean shaped like palm trees?”

    Ah, you had me going. I read the above sentence and said out loud to myself, “What? The ocean is shaped like palm trees?”

  2. Brian said,

    July 9, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    Hey Tiffany,

    Hmm… yeah, I think a comma or something might have helped out there… Ah well, it’s Monday.

    I wouldn’t put a palm tree-shaped ocean past Dubai. I not only can they do it, they very likely will at some point in time. Once they’ve bored of lighting their cigars with hundred dollar bills. (Which I think will be soon.)

  3. JoeDrinker said,

    July 9, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    You know, any clown with trillions of dollars can build a flat palm tree into the ocean. Wake me up when someone builds a three-dimensional one that carries people and transportation up a giant elevator to the buildings on the fronds.

    What would be really cool is if the tree’s shadow then fell across the lowly flat palm islands. That would make it all worth while.

  4. Brian said,

    July 9, 2007 at 11:17 pm

    JD,

    What I do want is whatever you’ve been drinking! :)

    I’ll bet they’re working on in now. I mean, the trillions keep rolling in, and they’re gonna use up all their seafront with palm resorts. They gotta start building up. Either that, or they gotta start tearing stuff down and rebuilding it out of solid gold and solidified oil.

    What I’d like to see is a walk in humidor that has a build in guest suite. So when you walk outside in the morning, you walk through your humidor. And all that would be built into a wine cellar. And that would all be underwater with service by a diamond-crusted submarine to the surface of the giant pool in the back yard of an opulent castle. My castle. Ah, yeah. :)

  5. September 28, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    fantastic!!!

  6. Rob said,

    January 17, 2009 at 7:04 pm

    Do they know something we don`t, I thought global warming will raise sea levels 20ft, according to Gore.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

