2200 Percent Growth In This Ugly Flower Of A Blog

Brian’s brain is still in weekend mode. Which isn’t such a bad thing since the big item of the day is to get a software side-grade (transitioning from Microsoft Outhouse to NoDice Notes does not qualify upgrade, I don’t care how many cute graphics it automatically embeds in your email). Of course, I don’t want to get into incriminating things like where I work or what I do specifically. (Those things are best left to your imagination.) Well no more than to say this is a big, big place, and new software and network access is comes to you at the speed of Heinz 57 ketchup.

Of course there are two things I do when business is slow. Troll (in the fishing sense, but sometimes in the inflammatory sense if the mood strikes) blogs and cigar auctions looking for what passes for action while sitting on your backside. What passes for action today is a graphical representation of my blog (via BabyChaos‘ list o’ links, which I hope someday to make it onto ;) ). And as a graph, this blog makes a pretty ugly flower. One that had a dangerous session with the Weed-B-Gon. The kind you’d back up the lawn mower for to be sure you got it all. Check it out:

Brian’s Random Thoughts: A Certifiable Cluster-F*ck

If you click on the image above, you can go see how your website/blog stands up.  [UPDATE: Image link fixed.] Is your blog a delicate orchid, or is an abusive, alcoholic dandelion like mine? C’mon. You know you wanna. Don’t make me “tag” you.

Of course, after that a sad spectacle, it’s fun to go re-inflate the ego with lies, damn lies and statistics. My favorite being the “How much is my blog worth calculator“. Of course, this isn’t the first time I’ve tried this thing out. Previously this blog came in at a handy little figure of $1,129.08. So lets see if I’ve made any progress in the mythical blog stock exchange:


Congratulations!
You’ve just agreed to pay $25,968.84 for my blog!

How much is your blog worth?

 

Ah, now that’s what I like to see! Progress! A 2200% increase in value! :) Oh yes, and thank you for your interest in buying my blog. Very kind of you. While I’m certain the check is in the mail, I regret to inform you that this blog isn’t yet for sale! (Though perhaps I should consider selling shares of blog stock…) ;) Anyway! If you haven’t checked your blog recently, you may want to take another peep. You might be in for a surprise!

Oops, looks like business is picking up. And as this particular post wasn’t going anywhere interesting, so I’ll be back when I have more interesting things to discuss. (Which may be soon. Apparently, I’ve just been “tagged”! Word has it if you don’t immediately act on it, your spleen will explode and you’ll have a rough bit of luck. :) )

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

9 Comments

  1. babychaos said,

    July 17, 2007 at 9:01 am

    You mean you’re not on there! Curses, I will have to set that straight!

    Cheers

    BC

  2. babychaos said,

    July 17, 2007 at 9:03 am

    There. All sorted!

    Cheers

    BC

  3. Brian said,

    July 17, 2007 at 10:59 am

    Thanks BC!

    I was hoping it was an oversight, I do see you around quite a bit! :)

  4. JoeDrinker said,

    July 18, 2007 at 5:28 pm

    Isn’t that graphic tool, um, cool? I saw that on BC’s site lnks too, and spent the better part of one morning putting in the largest and most complicated sites I could.

    On the other computer, of course.

  5. Brian said,

    July 18, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    Not a bad idea, JD! Any sites you recommend? I ran it on a few random sites I visit, but I never thought of running it on anything like Amazon… Which just occurred to me as a possibly good candidate for bringing my laptop to it’s knees… :)

  6. JoeDrinker said,

    July 19, 2007 at 4:55 pm

    I dunno…Amazon was the biggest one I could think of. Even Google came out looking like a simple nursery mobile.

    If available, I would recommend running the experiment on a computer that you didn’t really have to use at the moment.

  7. Brian said,

    July 19, 2007 at 5:54 pm

    Hmm…

    Yeah JD, maybe we’re expecting a bit much out of this tool… It is titled “Websites as Graphs”, not “Websites as Flowers” or “Websites as Fractals”. It is kinda fun though.

    Good recommendation, regarding the separate computer. It can be a bit of a processor hog. Though it seems that running it in a different browser can negate some of the impact, if all you’re doing is browsin’ the web.

  8. July 26, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    [...] stupid. Also, it happens to be the fix that got me back on track. It’s dumb and it works. As I mentioned in a previous post, I recently began the slow, painful process of migrating from one mail client to another in the [...]

  9. Pepepicky said,

    November 9, 2008 at 1:19 am

    All hello! God site


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

