The Making Of The CAO America Video

So the new CAO America cigar isn’t breaking news at this point. There’s a very good chance you’ve heard about it and read up on either one of the many bloggers that first reported it (I first saw it reported by Stinkie over on CigarBeat), or you saw it on the newly redesigned CAO website itself. So why on earth am I bother to post about the America a full two weeks after it’s press release? What could I possibly add to the information already out there? I’ll tell you. (If I didn’t, this post wouldn’t have a point, would it?) Because a little birdie told me about a couple of official CAO videos that have appeared on YouTube. One of them, in fact, just earlier today! Without further ado, here they are, for your viewing pleasure.

The CAO America Teaser Trailer

Who ever heard of a teaser trailer for a cigar? The brilliant marketing folks at CAO, that’s who! I just love it! :) But wait, the second is even more interesting than the first. And it just came out today!

The Making of the CAO America

Wanna know how that achieve that “pinstripe” wrapper effect? They show you exactly how by making one in front of your eyes. As noted, this video clip was narrated by the CAO’s chief cigar smoker, Tim Ozgener.

But if you did come here looking for more in depth facts, figures and damned lies (a.k.a. statistics); here’s a quick roundup of the articles already out there on the internet.

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

4 Comments

  1. babychaos said,

    July 20, 2007 at 10:44 am

    Brilliant! I love looking under the swan of life and watching it’s legs paddling like buggery. The second vid is EXACTLY the sort of thing I mean by that. Very intriguing.

    Cheers

    BC

  2. Brian said,

    July 20, 2007 at 2:02 pm

    Thanks BC!

    Yeah, the whole cigar process is fascinating. It’s easy to assume that because they look so nice and come in such quantities that they’re made by machine. Nope, all hand made, and a little ugly right up until the put that beautiful wrapper leaf on.

    Actually, in this video, you only saw the tail end of the process. There are a ton of YouTube videos out there if you’d like to see it starting with a pile of leaves!

    Cheers!

  3. Dale said,

    July 23, 2007 at 5:09 pm

    Brian,

    Thanks for posting that video! I always love watching a skilled roller apply a wrapper, and this one takes some real care. I can’t wait to smoke one of these – actually should be doing just that in about 2 weeks from today.

    Regards,
    Dale

  4. Brian said,

    July 23, 2007 at 5:39 pm

    Hi Dale,

    No problem, glad you enjoyed it! Can I assume by your timing that you’ll be at RTDA? I’m happy to say that I’ll be there as well!

    Yeah, this cigar is a beauty. I can’t wait to have one.

    By the way, I’m listening to the show right now. Had to pause it to go send an email to my senator… :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

