6 Mushroom Pictures: There Actually Is Fungus Among Us!

Just look what I found in a neighborhood in Sandy Springs, GA this weekend while my wife and I were making the rounds: Mushrooms! Not the normal pizza-topping variety, we’re talking full-on Grateful Dead album art mushrooms. (Or better yet, Mellow Mushroom pizza art for those of you living in the area.) Anyway, this just proves I should never go anywhere without my camera. You probably shouldn’t either. :) Enjoy!

A Mushroom!

A Mushroom!

A Mushroom!

A Mushroom!

A Mushroom!

A Mushroom!

Check out the entire mushroom gallery here. (The originals are much larger.)

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

11 Comments

  1. JoeDrinker said,

    July 23, 2007 at 5:49 pm

    Some of those things are actually kind of pretty, aren’t they? Must be nice to have enough moisture outside to actually grow ‘shrooms.

    And you always need to carry your camera with you. You never know when you’ll come across something worth snapping. Like a car accident. ;)

  2. Brian said,

    July 23, 2007 at 6:23 pm

    Hey JD,

    Yeah, and I didn’t think we had that kind of moisture this year. This is the first time I’ve even seen mushrooms since I’ve been in Hotlanta. I think there was just something a bit different about that neighborhood… These colorful guys were springing up everywhere in little clusters all over the little dead-end street, but no where else around it.

    I’m definitely going to do a better job of having the camera handy. A couple of years ago Lance Armstrong was involved in a race that passed with in a block of my old apartment. Somehow I completely spaced bringing my camera. Come to think of it, as fast as he tore through there, I probably wouldn’t have lined up a decent shot anyway…

  3. abarclay12 said,

    July 23, 2007 at 9:15 pm

    These are lovely mushrooms. I once did some mushrooms in college, and I was (and still am) convinced that a wild mountain lion was pursuing me. I believed it was taunting me. It was a wonderful experience.

  4. Brian said,

    July 24, 2007 at 12:52 am

    Hey abarclay12,

    A similar thing happens to me when I smoke particularly potent cigars, like the one I just had tonight. Except the mountain lion runs in, steals the remote changes the channel to the Oprah channel and runs out. I hate having to get up change channel by hand back to the Cartoon Network. Stupid lion.

  5. babychaos said,

    July 25, 2007 at 9:40 am

    I can’t eat the normal white on top brown underneath shrooms we all know and love – they make me hurl copiously – but I do get to go foraging for wild fungi (wild they’re fricking livid when I pick em and eat em oh ho ho). Nothing that looks like those though! I love the orange and red ones, they’re way cool!

    Cheers

    BC

  6. Brian said,

    July 25, 2007 at 11:06 am

    Hi BC,

    No, we can’t have you hurling copiously, and I’m pretty sure the end result of eating these colorful guys would be just that.

    I don’t have a yard/garden where I live, but if I did, I’d try to transplant some of these. They’re better than flowers!

    Cheers!

  7. July 26, 2007 at 5:53 pm

    Wow. When I commented on the other entry, I didn’t know you are also in Georgia! What a small world. LOL. Nice pictures, by the way. I like the colorful ones. I was surprised when I found the Frost’s Bolete. I had never seen those before. The variety this time of the year was better than normal. I think it’s because of the off-and-on rain for 2 weeks.

    Now I’m going to have to subscribe to your feed since you’re a local. :-)

  8. Brian said,

    July 26, 2007 at 6:20 pm

    Aw shucks. :)

    Yeah, I thought it was a pretty cool coincidence. Both in Georgia, both posting pictures of mushrooms at roughly the same time. With the crazy rain, I guess these must be popping up everywhere. I’m originally from Oregon, and we’ve got nothing like these over there. (At least not that I’ve ever seen, and the Northwest is constantly under a light misty rain…)

    Sounds like you know a bit about mushrooms! I was thinking about trying to find these in a guide book and identify them, but then I got busy… :)

    Speaking of mushrooms did you ever see the Super Mario “1-Up” mushroom they sell at ThinkGeek? Pretty cool, I must say.

  9. July 26, 2007 at 6:49 pm

    I’m originally from Oregon, and we’ve got nothing like these over there.

    Well.. the mushrooms are basically the flowers of the plant specifically for spreading spores. The “plant” grows underground all the time. So the Oregon ones are suited for that environment. The constant dryness, but sudden saturation, probably results in the variety you see down here.

    Sounds like you know a bit about mushrooms!

    Nah.. I just know how to work magic on Google. If that fails, I use the ID Please group on Flickr. But, I am an information sponge, so I usually remember a lot of details once I read them. :-)

    Surprisingly, I never did see that 1-Up mushroom in my various browsing trips through ThinkGeek. They have too many cool things I want. LOL.

  10. Brian said,

    July 27, 2007 at 11:28 am

    Cool, thanks for the tip abbydonkrafts. I have a friend that took a picture of a snake that nobody’s been able to identify. I’ll see if I can get him to put it up on Flickr for identification.

    I know, I could probably blow a paycheck there myself! ;)

  11. July 30, 2007 at 1:19 pm

    [...] 30th, 2007 at 1:19 pm (Atlanta, Off Beat, Charity, Cigars, Reviews, News) Even though I made a point of saying I wouldn’t last week, somehow I still left home on Saturday without my camera. So I have no proof of the [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

