Oliva Serie V Review And Other Cigar News

Oliva Serie VYou may have noticed that it’s been a while since I’ve written a cigar review. Well the good news is that Brian hasn’t given up smoking cigars. (If anything, I’m smoking more in rebellion, given the latest rash of legislative assaults on our liberties.) The reason you haven’t seen a review for a while is because Brian’s been working on a guest review for Stinkie over at the CigarBeat blog. And by working, I mean smoking and taking taking names. Well, taking notes. ;)

Anyway, I’m happy to announce that my finest review to date is now available for your viewing pleasure. I’d like to thank Stinkie for both the cigars (there was no way I was gonna get these guys this early without some help!) and for the opportunity to contribute to his great blog. (Cue the clapping… now.)

I’ll be contributing a few more in the coming weeks to help free Stinkie up while he’s moving. And that’s a good thing for at least one reason. Space limitations. This blog, while free (WordPress rules!) is limited in terms of space, so I have to be sparing when it comes to pictures and such. I don’t have quite the same restrictions on CigarBeat posts. Which means my Oliva Serie V review is flush with pictures of the cigars, both before and during the smoking. (Lemme link to that one more time, just in case you haven’t gone yet… ;) )

Don’t worry, this doesn’t spell the end this blog or even of cigar reviews on this blog. In fact, I think I may even squeeze one in here between posts there.

In other news, Brian is going to RTDA! This past week was a magic week, let me tell you. I was asked to guest review on two different blogs, CigarBeat and another I’m still working the details out on. I’ll give you a clue, childbirth is involved. That could fall through, but hey, it’s great to be asked. I was also made an offer I don’t think I can refuse, professionally. And finally, some very kind soul (I’m not sure if I can name names, so I won’t) has secured me a pass to the 2007 RTDA trade show in Houston, Texas. All that in a week.

If you’re going to be there, drop me a line! It’ll be fun to put faces to names while enjoying the new CAO America!

Now in less pleasant news, the anti-smoking nuts have had their way with Ohio, leaving it a pale, pansy shadow of it’s former self by refusing to allow consenting adults to congregate in a properly-designated public area and enjoy cigars. Welcome to No-hio (via Cigar Jack), a place where the state knows what’s best for you and will bend you to its will. With laws and police power. Yep, that means you can’t smoke in a cigar bar. Yep, a place created and staffed by people dedicated to the art of the tobacco leaf. “Nope,” sez No-hio, “that isn’t good for you. I won’t allow it. I must protect you from yourselves.”

I don’t know about the residents of No-hio, but this just makes me crazy. Crazy enough to drive up there and engage in a little civil disobedience. Who’s with me? Anybody want to get together and light up the biggest, fattest, smokiest stogie we can get our hands on right inside the door of the state capitol building? Bonus points if we set off the sprinkler system! *Sigh* Yeah, the problem is that we have jobs to be at and mortgages to pay. And that’s why these weasels get away with this sort of crap. We need some rent-a-protestors to do this for us. :)

People who have read this blog for a while now know I avoid generally avoid politics in this blog. It tends to bring the worst out in people. (The previous paragraph is evidence of that.) That isn’t going to change, however, I leave a little wiggle room in there to express my right to smoke cigars with other consenting adults in appropriate locations. A cigar bar is an appropriate location. The outdoors is an appropriate location. My car and my home is an appropriate location. Legislators, keep your laws out of my lungs, off my body and out of my home. And how about backing away from my cigar bar?

Don’t even get me started on the $10 per cigar tax that’s being up for consideration in the Senate. You know what you need to do. (I’ll give you a clue, it involves correspondence.)

OK, I definitely shouldn’t drink and blog. Fortunately, that isn’t illegal. Yet.

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

7 Comments

  1. JoeDrinker said,

    July 25, 2007 at 2:30 am

    Oh man, just today I booked my tickets to Columbus. Maybe I’ll bring some boxes and sell them out of the trunk of my rental car. It could pay for the trip!

  2. Brian said,

    July 25, 2007 at 9:46 am

    Hey JD,

    I think you’re just toying with my emotions… Because that sounds like a call for a Oliva Serie V protest smoke at the Ohio state capitol to me! The only problem is that it’d be awfully hard to stay angry about anything about half way into the cigar. But we could plan ahead for that. We could pre-record some “hey hey, ho ho” chants before hand and put them on a loop while lounge about smoking up the place. And make some signs that hold themselves up… and get some big leather couches… Hmmm… I guess it’s sounding less and less like a protest, but a lot more like fun. ;)

  3. July 25, 2007 at 2:54 pm

    Great site Brian, not a cigar smoker but fire one up for me and tell them
    ” Hey hey, ho ho stick this cigar where it won’t glow” Talk at you later.

  4. Brian said,

    July 25, 2007 at 3:15 pm

    Thanks for the note of support Bernie! :)

    If you happen to stop by again, make sure to click on the photography category in the sidebar, I have a few photography related posts you may find interesting, or at least more up your alley than cigars!

  5. July 26, 2007 at 8:11 pm

    Enjoy RTDA ! I had a great time the last time it was in Tampa. Great review on the Oliva. I’ll have to pick one up and give it a try.

  6. July 27, 2007 at 9:12 am

    [...] has taken on the Oliva Serie V this  week. A great cigar that I reviewed awhile [...]

  7. Brian said,

    July 27, 2007 at 11:17 am

    Thanks cigarsmokingman!

    Glad you liked the review. They should be out and readily available soon. If you check around, there may be an event for it in your area. There is in mine, and I’m going to try to get over there for it.

    Yeah, I’m excited. I’ve never been to RTDA before! :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

