Free Cigar: Brian’s Oliva Serie V Giveaway!

Oliva Serie V[UPDATE: This contest is closed, but a new cigar giveaway contest is now open here!]

Even though I made a point of saying I wouldn’t last week, somehow I still left home on Saturday without my camera. So I have no proof of the things I’m about to say. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

On Saturday I smoked the Oliva Serie V Double Robusto (5 x 54) with Jose Oliva. I’m tempted to lie and say he flew in to Atlanta specifically to thank me for my favorable review on CigarBeat, but even I don’t have delusions of grandeur that large. The truth is that was in town for the final Serie V event before RTDA at Tobacco World here in the Atlanta area. And let me tell you, the event was awesome. Probably the liveliest cigar event I’ve been to yet.

Jose Oliva brought with him an entire entourage of Oliva representatives from around the south as well a catering crew serving up hot pasta. (Oh the irony! To quote myself in my Serie V review: “This is not a post-pasta cigar!” :) But oddly, it did go nicely with the cannolis.) And of course there was a generous helping of store regulars there, happy to help Mr. Oliva burn through that box of free double robustos. The air was thick and hazy with the rich Serie V smoke and there was a lively game of dominoes at a packed table in one corner.

I found myself spending a lot of time talking with the Florida Oliva Rep Burt. The guy is quite a character, and has been with the Olivas since the beginning. He’s been such a part of the Oliva’s success that Jose said of him “he is more Oliva than I am”, and he proudly sports a Rolex that was part of his lifetime achievement award. Burt is the definition of a proud company man, and a skilled salesman. Without even trying, he talked me into picking up a couple Oliva 2006 Master Blends and a couple Padron 1964’s for cigar versus cigar comparison. (I’ll admit, I’m not a very hard sell when it comes to cigars.) So I walked away happy with a fistful of cigars, a Serie V buzz and a lighter wallet.

So after this event and my great experience at the recent CAO event, I’ve decided to make a point to attend more cigar events in the future. (Including RTDA!) But the question is, how do you find out about cigar events in your area? Sure, you can sign up for email updates from your local tobacconist, but that won’t keep you in the know on what’s happening down the road at another shop! And not all the cigar manufacturers’ websites include event information. (So manufacturers don’t even have websites!)

Have no fear, I have the answer for you: Cigar Cyclopedia. This website is a gold mine of useful cigar information. And one of the largest gleaming nuggets is their U.S. Cigar Promotions and Special Events Calendar, which is conveniently broken down by state and in chronological order. (A big thanks to the guys at Dog Watch Social Club for mentioning this in one of their recent shows.)

“That’s great, Brian. But what about this free cigar you mention in the title?” You ask. Wouldn’t it be funny if I never got to that? No? OK. Here’s the deal. Recently Cigar Jack had a contest on his blog for a free t-shirt, and I really like the way he set that up. I’ve been thinking about having one of my own for a while now. But instead of giving away a t-shirt, I’m going to give away a cigar. And not just any cigar! Something that’ll really be a treat.

And, as luck would have it, I had the opportunity to buy a few of the Oliva Serie V Double Robustos at this event. As much as I enjoy these cigars, I think it’d be even more fun to share them. So I’m going to send one of these still unreleased cigars to a lucky reader!

So here’s the Oliva Serie V Giveaway rules:

  1. You are allowed two entries to this giveaway. Please note you must be 18 or older to enter. (Sorry, I don’t make the laws, I just try to follow them!)
  2. Your first entry is commenting on this post. Please include the text in your comment “I am 18 or older.”
  3. You may enter a second time by posting a link to this contest on your blog that pingback/trackbacks to this post.
  4. The winner will be drawn August 10th, 2007. (Or whenever entries slow down enough that making everyone wait becomes a pointless exercise. Totally my discretion here.)

Good luck! If you’re not sure whether or not to enter, I encourage you to read my review of the larger figurado and churchill sizes over on Cigar Beat. While these are smooth and tasty full-bodied cigars, they may be a bit potent (especially at the end) for a newbie!

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

75 Comments

  1. Eric Mc. said,

    July 30, 2007 at 1:30 pm

    Sign me up, I would love to try one of those cigars. I am 18 or older.

  2. Christopher Rock said,

    July 30, 2007 at 1:40 pm

    I would love to try one. I am 18 or older.

  3. stinkie said,

    July 30, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    Okay I might have to use this idea on my forum! I’m over 18 but send it to someone that has not got the chance to try one.

  4. Brian said,

    July 30, 2007 at 3:16 pm

    Thanks for the entries guys!

    Sounds like a plan Stinkie, if you win, I’ll send it to anybody you choose over at the CigarBeat forums. (This might be a potential third way to win- go over and join the forum and kiss-up to Stinkie!)

  5. July 30, 2007 at 3:48 pm

    I’m over 18, I live in the Atlanta area and I was disappointed to be out of town for the event :( Glad to hear it was fun.

  6. Anastasia said,

    July 30, 2007 at 5:51 pm

    I’m in too! I’m 18 or older lol :)

  7. Joe said,

    July 30, 2007 at 6:27 pm

    If only I had an interest that I could give away in a contest….hhhmmm.
    ;)

  8. Carl Holtman said,

    July 30, 2007 at 7:32 pm

    Man would I love to try this cigar. I hope they become readily available after RTDA.
    “I am 18 or older.”

  9. Cigar Jack said,

    July 30, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    I’m 18 and older and I’ve got two of the Figurados in my humidor and still want more. Brian are you going to be at the RTDA? What days? Saturday night a bunch of are planning to meet up downtown.

  10. July 30, 2007 at 10:49 pm

    [...] is giving away an Oliva Serie V. Seriously you’d be a fool to pass this up! This cigar is one of the best cigars of the [...]

  11. Brian said,

    July 30, 2007 at 11:25 pm

    Hi Cigar Jack,

    Yep, I’m very happy to say I’ll be at RTDA! :) I’ll be in Houston starting Saturday through until Tuesday afternoon. It’d be great to get together for an evening herf or just a night out on the town!

    @Joe: I know you can think of something… a caricature of a contest winner?

  12. Derek said,

    July 31, 2007 at 12:12 am

    I”m 18 or older and would love to try this cigar

  13. berris said,

    July 31, 2007 at 12:17 am

    Hey Brian… I am 18 or older. Actually, I am a little over twice that…

    Have not tried the Serie V yet, but reading your thoughts and reviews have made me think that these may just be worth it.

    By the way, I am insanely jealous of all you RTDA attendees! :-)

    ~B~

  14. Adam Teece said,

    July 31, 2007 at 12:57 am

    Awesome review, and that is really cool that you got to meet Jose Olivia. Great contest too.

    I am 18 or older.

  15. ER Doc said,

    July 31, 2007 at 6:39 am

    Brian – thanks for the contest. I am certainly 18 or OLDER. Can’t wait to try one of teh Serie V (missed the local Oliva event because of work). Thanks, again.

    Bill

  16. Sean Simkins said,

    July 31, 2007 at 9:53 am

    Great story! I would love to get my hands on a Series V. Oliva is such a great cigar company! Also, “I am over 18.”

  17. Todd Slush said,

    July 31, 2007 at 10:42 am

    I’d be stoked to get one of those smokes. I’ve heard great stuff about them from many different sources. Thanks for the opportunity Brian.

  18. Matt said,

    July 31, 2007 at 1:30 pm

    What a great experience. I’m adding a permanent link to this blog on my site. Don’t know how I missed finding you before. I’ll trackback to this cool contest too. Thanks for the opportunity.

    I’m over 18….

  19. Jack said,

    July 31, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    Thanks for the contest Brian.
    Great site. I really enjoy you style of writing.
    Sign me up! I am definitely older than 18 years
    age.

  20. Tanner McGraw said,

    July 31, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    Throw my name in the hat. I am over 18

  21. July 31, 2007 at 1:37 pm

    [...] pm Brian over at Brian’s Random Thoughts is giving away a free cigar.  Go check it out here and read about his cool Oliva [...]

  22. Sammy Dozier said,

    July 31, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Pretend that i crinckled up my entry, to make it more likely to be pulled from the hat. I am 18 or older.

  23. B Casanova said,

    July 31, 2007 at 5:45 pm

    Jose Oliva is one I’d definitely like to meet. I carve cigar labels as a hobby (http://casanovacigarcarvings.blogspot.com/). I leave room at the bottom of each piece so that I can get them signed. Oliva is one of the next ones on my list, so hopefully I’ll be meeting him soon.

    And yes, I am over 18.

  24. Justin said,

    July 31, 2007 at 5:56 pm

    I am 18 or older! Thanks for running the contest.

  25. Brian said,

    July 31, 2007 at 6:25 pm

    I’ve seen your blog B Casanova, that’s some great stuff you have there! How long does it take you to carve each band?

    Jose Oliva was a very cool guy, and I’m sure you’d have no trouble getting him to sign your next band. Just make sure to post some more pictures when you get that band done! :)

  26. Denise said,

    July 31, 2007 at 7:02 pm

    Oooo! Ooooo! Can I enter too? Or does being married to Cigar Jack disqualify me? If it does, can you kick him out of the running and put me in instead? :D

    ..i’m not 18 and over, but I am 25 and over..

  27. Brian said,

    July 31, 2007 at 8:16 pm

    I dunno Denise… sounds like Cigar Jack is pulling a fast one and going for a third entry… ;) Oh, OK.

    Sure! I’m such a fan of women who smoke cigars, I may even bring an extra one to RTDA just for you if you’ll actually enjoy it! (That is, if you’re going.) Though it may prove to be a useless exercise, I suspect the Oliva people will be giving them out there!

  28. Tony said,

    July 31, 2007 at 8:23 pm

    I am over 18 and would love to smoke one of these babies!

  29. August 1, 2007 at 12:17 am

    Fantastic cigar, I’d love to enjoy it! I am 18 or older. Great blog you have!

  30. John Crane said,

    August 1, 2007 at 12:41 pm

    I’ll have to add this to my list of subscribed blogs. Anyone who gives cigars away through their blog is definitely worth repeat business. I’m over 18, and hope that being a fellow Atlantan will help sway the random pick to me!

  31. Zhadum said,

    August 1, 2007 at 1:26 pm

    First I just wanted to tell you have a great blog here keep up the great work. Second this is a great contest. As a self proclaimed Oliva whore that wasn’t able to get to one of the V events this is a great chance to try one of these sweet looking sticks. I am 18 or older.

  32. David Allen said,

    August 2, 2007 at 12:35 pm

    I would also like a great cigar.
    I am way over 18.
    Youth or a cigar, tough choice – I take the cigar.

    Dave

  33. Robert Wayne said,

    August 2, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    I am quite a few years over 18 years old. I was at the event at TW, there is going to be one here in Douglasville very soon. The Series V is my favorite now. I bought a few while there. When I lit the cigar up He said blow some smoke thru your nose, which I was reluctant, but I did, and foud out this is a smooth cigar indeed, whic was his point. Mr Oliva is indeed a great guy and has another winner on his hands with this new release. I belive it will be a big seller and hard to get.

  34. August 2, 2007 at 4:15 pm

    [...] to write a new post. I’m really enjoying the huge volume of traffic I’m getting for the Oliva Serie V giveaway post, and anything new I post will likely get in the way of that. Oh well, it is a blog after all, and [...]

  35. willmacc said,

    August 2, 2007 at 6:29 pm

    (Well over 18 years old) I’m just starting out on cigars, but have found that I Really enjoy them! I’ll have to start looking for this particular one.

  36. Brian said,

    August 2, 2007 at 6:31 pm

    Thanks everyone for entering and the kind words! I’m going to keep the contest open at least until after I get back from RTDA. (I’m there until Tuesday.) Good luck!

    @John Crane: I give even more cigars away in person! You never know, I might just be nutty enough to do this again down the road…

    @David Allen: Yeah, youth is kinda over rated. To re-coin the phrase, youth is wasted on the non-smoker. :)

    @Robert Wayne: Cool, you probably saw me there! I didn’t try the smoke through the nose thing, but I heard them encouraging people to try it.

  37. Gary said,

    August 2, 2007 at 7:45 pm

    I am 18 or older, and would like to be entered in the drawing.

  38. Steve said,

    August 3, 2007 at 12:03 am

    Brian – I’m over 18, and appreciate an entry.

    Steve

  39. Andrew said,

    August 4, 2007 at 2:25 am

    “I am 18 or older.”
    Found this blog thanks to your guest apperance on the stogie review. This will be a normal read now that I have found it. Thanks for the great site.

  40. Seth said,

    August 5, 2007 at 7:18 pm

    Brian,

    I enjoy many of the Oliva products, but have limited access in my area. I plan to try the V once I get the chance since I like the med-full cigars. I am over 18 too…

    Thanks
    Seth

  41. Steven Brown said,

    August 6, 2007 at 11:01 am

    I am 18 or older.
    Found your blog from your review on stogiereview.com.
    Excellent work!

    Thanks,
    Steve

  42. Tom said,

    August 6, 2007 at 12:14 pm

    I am 18 or older and would like to try an Oliva cigar. I have read alot of good things.

  43. Craig S. said,

    August 6, 2007 at 4:14 pm

    Would love to try one of the Olivia Smokes.
    “I am 18 or older.”, (un)fortunately, much older.

  44. Jason A said,

    August 7, 2007 at 8:35 pm

    I am 18 or older.” I am 18 or older.”I am 18 or older.”I am 18 or older.”
    i love oliva!!!!!!

  45. David said,

    August 9, 2007 at 5:09 am

    I am 18 or older. I’m a big Oliva fan and thrilled to hear about your serie V review. Generous contest on your behalf, would love to try a serie V as soon as possible!!!

  46. kevink868 said,

    August 9, 2007 at 8:59 pm

    I am 18 or older and I’m dying to try one of these! Hook me up!

  47. Brent said,

    August 10, 2007 at 4:32 pm

    I’m over 18. Saw this at Cigarlive, baboruger here.

  48. Eddie S. said,

    August 10, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    Nice blog. If you are talking about the cigarette burning Burt I am thinking of he is a trip! I met him at a local store a while back.

    Keep up the good work!

    I am 18 or older.”

  49. Tim Percy said,

    August 10, 2007 at 4:48 pm

    Haven’t tried the Olivia line yet, but looking forward to it soon.

    Sadly I am much older than 18.

  50. Brian said,

    August 10, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    Thanks everybody for the entries! Only a little while longer (midnight tonight!) before I pick a winner…

    Eddie S: Yep, that’s exactly the same Burt! I have a picture of him and my local Oliva rep up on my RTDA Houston 2007 In Pictures post. He’s a character, isn’t he?

  51. havanitascigars said,

    August 10, 2007 at 4:56 pm

    from CigarLive.com

  52. havanitascigars said,

    August 10, 2007 at 4:59 pm

    Messed up on the last post…. Jose is a great guy. He and I had a very good discussion on tobacco and aging when he was in California. At one point we looked up and saw a group around us listening to our discussion and he looked at me and said, “You really know your stuff.”

    The Oliva V is a very good cigar. For those who have not tried one yet… go out and buy one now. You have to at least give it a whirl.

  53. Kevin said,

    August 10, 2007 at 5:06 pm

    I am 18 or older, never tried a Serie V and would love one. BTW, great idea, and great blog

  54. Mike said,

    August 10, 2007 at 5:17 pm

    Great enty. I’m jealous, I’m over 18 and I want to win Series V.

  55. Paul said,

    August 10, 2007 at 6:13 pm

    “I am 18 or older.” —I have yet to try the Oliva V and like everyone else, would love to do so. Been waiting to try and if I win this I can do just that. Cool Contest. Good Luck Everyone–

  56. Neill Mcgrann said,

    August 10, 2007 at 6:37 pm

    sign me up, i;m over 18!!

  57. Roger PAtterson said,

    August 10, 2007 at 8:09 pm

    I would love to try one. I am 18 or older.

  58. August 10, 2007 at 8:14 pm

    I am over 18, and this is a nice cigar to give away. Please sign me up in the contest.

  59. Joe Estep said,

    August 10, 2007 at 8:41 pm

    I’m 18 twice (and then some). Does that qualify me for two prizes? :o)

  60. John Crane said,

    August 10, 2007 at 9:07 pm

    Brian – considering that, we should hang out! Seriously, maybe you’d like setup a trade or two? I have a small humidor, but some super premiums in there! Let me know over at CigarLive if you are interested.

  61. Michael Fortner said,

    August 10, 2007 at 9:08 pm

    I am two score years old and I would love to try these cigars.

    Michael

  62. Cody Ackermann said,

    August 10, 2007 at 9:11 pm

    Sure, I’d love to try this thing. I’ve been anticipating them for a while now. I am 18 or older.

  63. Duane Pullen said,

    August 10, 2007 at 9:36 pm

    I am over 18 years old. The Oliva Serie V ROCKS!!!

  64. Lou said,

    August 10, 2007 at 10:48 pm

    I am over 18 years old.

    This cigar sounds great!
    I’ve only had the Serie G.

  65. Brian said,

    August 11, 2007 at 12:11 pm

    Thanks again everyone for the entries… The contest, of course, is closed, and the drawing is in process… :)

  66. Jim Euritt said,

    August 11, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    I’m 18 and older and I wanna win a cigar!

    GoinFerSmoke

  67. Brian said,

    August 12, 2007 at 10:22 am

    Ah man, Jim, you just missed it! Keep an eye out though, I may just do this again! :)

  68. brian batt said,

    August 18, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    I would love a cigar I am 18 and older

  69. August 22, 2007 at 1:59 pm

    [...] this to the Oliva Serie V event I blogged about a while back. There was a lot of buzz about this cigar, but a lot of words of caution also regarding it’s [...]

  70. oicantu13 said,

    September 11, 2007 at 4:50 pm

    This Series V was Awesome! I dont really like Oliva Cigars all that much, but when one of the Oliva reps handed one to me and said, “go ahead, light up,” wearing a smug grin, I had to see what he was all about. This is a great triple ligero cigar that kicks you in gut when your least expecting it. I loved it. When a cigar gives you hick-ups, you know its good.

  71. Brian said,

    September 12, 2007 at 11:16 am

    I absolutely agree oicantu13, the Serie V is an excellent cigar. Though I think I have to part ways with you on the rest of their line. I haven’t actually smoked all that many of them so far, but the ones I have have been enjoyable!

    Hick-ups? Wow, I’ve never had that happen… though I have gotten a bit of gas from cigars at times…

  72. September 13, 2007 at 12:08 am

    [...] I’d get in on the fun. If you happened to catch the contests over at CigarJack’s and Brian’s Random Thoughts, you know what I’m talking about. Mine is going to work a little differently. You are going [...]

  73. larry lay said,

    June 6, 2008 at 2:36 am

    i cant get a free lunch but ineed to lose weight anyway so since ill be 59 in july i should get a free stogie.

  74. June 17, 2008 at 9:16 pm

    I would love to get a cigar sample , you would be the 1st company I ever got one from ! lol ……………


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

