And The Winner Of The CAO America Potomac Is…

The CAO AmericaOK, OK, I’ve kept everybody waiting long enough. Though the contest officially ended this past Sunday, in the hustle to catch up with all the obligations I put on hold for last week’s roadtrip, the contest was put on the back burner for a couple of days. (I actually drew the winners yesterday, I just didn’t get around to posting the results until today!)

This time around it really paid off to enter! Because I was out of town, I didn’t have as much time to promote the contest as I did with the previous. As a result we had around 20 fewer entries for the CAO America cigars than we did for the Serie V! (Or maybe the Oliva buzz was bigger. Or maybe people are getting tired of my random thoughts, who can tell?) According to my quick-and-dirty calculations, you had whopping 2% chance to walk away with one of these pre-release beauties, while you only had a 1.4% for the Oliva Serie V.

Enough of the statistical geekery, it’s time to announce the lucky guys that gain from my goofing around! And the first winner is…

Comment #16: Joe Drinker!

Cool! That saves me having to find an excuse to send him a cigar. (I have been thinking about it. And I know he’s been hoping I’d offer. The cigar-tension has been thick between us. Wow, OK, this is starting to sound weird! It must be time to stop writing parenthetically.) Given his background in graphic design, this aesthetically pleasing stick might just be the perfect cigar to send his way. (Whaddaya think about my “post-whoring contests” now? LOL!)

And now, the second winner is…

Comment #9: Mike Philippovic (mphilipp)!

Mike just happens to be a Brother of the Leaf (BOTL) that made his way over to my blog from the Cigar Live forum. And as luck would have it, somebody I also ran into briefly at the pre-RTDA herf at Slainte Irish Pub in downtown Houston! (A brief aside: If you live in the area or happen to be traveling through, you should meet up with these Houston guys, they’re herfin’ machines!)

I’ll be emailing the lucky winners soon to get shipping details, and with any luck these cigars will be on the road tomorrow. (If you’re one of the winners, and you haven’t seen an email from me yet, check your spam filter! Or you can always use the form on the About page to send me your details, just be sure to use the same email address you used to enter so I can be sure it’s you!)

Of course to maximize the enjoyment of the cigar, you can always wander over to the Stogie Review, where I have been promoted to a regular reviewing fixture, to check out my thoughts on the America, while smoking your own! C’mon, you know you wanna.

I’m happy to say that I got to smoke another of these with a friend of mine on the roadtrip, and I found it to be even tastier than it was when I reviewed it. I could have been the experience of being on the road or the extra weeks of age. Whatever the cause, it was a damn fine smoke, with a lot of surprisingly caramel flavor where previously I had tasted paper. With any luck, the lucky winners will enjoy theirs as much as we enjoyed ours!

And to everyone else, sorry, I’m all out! Of CAO Americas, that is… ;) Keep checking back, I just might do this again! In the meantime, you can try your luck again over at Cigar Jack’s blog. You still have a week to enter his Arganese cigar giveaway!

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.