5 Vegas Serie A Archetype

5 Vegas Serie A Archetype Up for review this time around is the 5 (“cinco”) Vegas Serie A Archetype. This is yet another cigar generously provided by my friends over at Cigars Direct for me to review.

Well, I’m going to sound an awful lot like a broken record. Not in the review so much as the excuse making for taking so long to get it written up. As I’ve mentioned previously, I’m involved in the world’s slowest job change. Well this week I think I hit the summit of involvement in both contracts. Having reached the peak, I’m hoping for a graceful roll down the other slope.

But enough of that. The good news is that I’ve had ample opportunity to fully evaluate the Serie A. In fact, not only did I smoke the cigars provided by Cigars Direct, I also smoked a couple of the Apostle size I happened to have knocking around in the bottom of my humidor. Which makes this possibly the best researched cigar review I’ve written to date.

Cigar Stats:
Size: 6 x 50 (toro)
Wrapper: Costa Rica
Binder: Nicaragua
Filler: Dominican Republic, Honduras, Nicaragua
Smoking Time: 1 3/4 hours
Beverage: Water, Coffee
Price: ~$3 (buy now)

The Pre-Smoke
Once you slide off the considerable cedar sheath what you see is a great dark, oily wrapper. Even though there are a few spidery veins, overall, the cigar has a surprising smooth appearance.

In testing the smell of the cigar, I noticed something interesting. The cedar tube had more of the typical barnyard scent that I usually notice on the wrapper. The wrapper, on the other hand, was noticeably sweeter, oiler and earthier than the tube. I clipped each cigar with my trademark flamboyantly-red Xikar and took a cold taste. Sweet dark licorice is what I found there.

I also noticed that a few of the cigars did have a crack in the wrapper. These turned out to be more of a cosmetic issue than a burn problem.

The Burn
Overall the burn was pretty good in these cigars and the draw was the same. In all cases the burn line wandered a bit in the final third. Well, that’s in all cases but one, insane Apostle size I had in my collection. As I puffed on it on a lazy Sunday morning, I was greeted by a startlingly loud crack about a third of the way in. I thought I’d just lit up a gag cigar, because the business end of a cigar blossomed like an oil-soaked flower. Fortunately, this was just an amusing anomaly, the rest of the cigars of both sizes were more behaved.

The Serie A Exploder
Blammo!

The other thing that seemed pretty consistent was that though the draw was good, the smoke seemed to be a bit wispy. The volume of smoke seemed a bit light for the draw.

The Flavor
As you might expect from a such a dark cigar, the first third opened up with a nice combination of chocolate and coffee. What came as a bit of a surprise to me was the sweetness. At points it was like a raisiny syrup, elsewhere more like toffee. As I smoked through the considerable length of the first third I also detected some tasty peppercorn, and an interesting aromatic leather flavor.

As I moved into the next two thirds I came across that flavor that makes people think I’m crazy. That’s right, cherry. (Though since I first noticed it, I’ve been told by another smoker that he’s gets it too.) In addition to cherry (which only appeared briefly around the beginning of the second third, I also got pepper, more rich cocoa, creamy sweetness and more aromatic creamy leather flavors. The final third was more of the same, only with a slightly fuller body.

The Price
I no complaints about the price of this cigar. Tipping the scales at 6 x 50, it will keep you happily occupied for at least an hour and a half. The same can’t be said for most movies these days, and you pay nearly three times as much for a ticket!

The Verdict
I really enjoyed this cigar almost every time I lit it up. (Well, except the one that nearly exploded while I smoked it. That one, not so much.) You’re likely to run into some minor cosmetic flaws, and the wrapper may crack a bit while you smoke it, but the array of flavors and low price more than make up for it.

I’d like to thank Cigars Direct again for their generosity. If my review had peaked your interest in this cigar, consider picking it up from them. Since I’ve smoked through my entire supply, I’ll probably be placing an order sometime soon myself!

Liked It: Yes
Buy It Again: Yes
Recommend It: Yes

The Cigar In Action
Even if you can’t smoke one just this minute, you can always pretend…

What Other People Are Saying
Here’s a quick sample of what other cigar folks around the internet have to say about the Serie ‘A’.

My Other Reviews
Make sure to check out my Cigar Review Index to see what else I’ve been smoking!

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

6 Comments

  1. October 21, 2007 at 12:45 am

    The 5 Vegas Archetype looks good. Kinda pretty as cigars go.

    Just curious–being the avid smoker you are, what do you do with all your cigar bands? Do you remove and toss, remove and keep or just let them burn through?

    Hope all is well in Hewitville.

    LK

  2. Brian said,

    October 21, 2007 at 6:38 pm

    That’s a good question Laurie. I don’t have a very good answer for that yet. I do hang on to the bands, but right now they’re just sitting in a giant Costco-sized biscotti jars awaiting their fate. I haven’t decided what that fate is to be yet.

    My wife really liked a cigar band mural we saw in a local cigar shop. There’s a good chance some of the bands will become something like that, unless I come up with a better plan. In the meantime, I’ve been mulling over sorting and keeping them in those plastic baseball card sleeve sheets.

    Oh yes, all is well in the House of Hewitt. Hope all is well in the Kingdom of Kendrick also!

  3. St. Jimbob said,

    January 14, 2008 at 12:11 am

    I reviewed the 5 Vegas Series ‘A’ Artisan, and placed a link to your review there as well. I liked the cigar, and mine tried to explode as yours did.

  4. Brian said,

    January 15, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Thanks St. Jimbob,

    I’ve only ever had that exploding 5 Vegas A once, but that was pretty funny. I’m very glad I had a camera handy at the time to catch that. It is a great cigar otherwise and reasonably priced. I always keep them on hand.

  5. January 28, 2008 at 9:11 am

    [...] Stogie Guys Keepers of the Flame Cigar Jack Brian’s Random Thoughts [...]

  6. michael said,

    June 30, 2008 at 1:04 pm

    Not to nitpick, but if you’re drinking coffee, ANY cigar would have a coffee taste in it somewhere. Stick to water.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

