Casada Connecticut Toro

Casada Connecticut ToroI’ll be honest with you. I’d never heard of these cigars before my friends over at Tex Cigars sent them my way for a review. But it fits the criteria for a cigar I want to smoke and review. So let’s see how this mysterious new smoke stands up.

Cigar Stats:
Size: 6 x 50 (Toro)
Wrapper: U.S. Connecticut
Binder: Nicaragua
Filler: Nicaragua
Smoking Time: 2 hours
Beverage: Water
Price: ~$4.00 (Buy ‘em here)

The Pre-Smoke
In looking the cigar over I found it to be very light in color, easily qualifying as “colorado claro” and mostly smooth with only a few veins. One of the cigars I smoked for this review had a small imperfection around the end of the second third.

Nothing else visually stood out about this cigar, so I gave it a little squeeze to check the density. It was nice and firm with a bit of give.

I noted a light sweet hay scent on the wrapper before I clipped it with my flamboyantly-red Xikar for a cold taste. I noted a sweeter, molasses or licorice flavor.

The Burn
In my notes on this cigar, I noted that it has a beautiful ash. And that’s a little refreshing. Many of the cigars I’ve been smoking recently have had flaky, chunky looking ashes. I got about an average length of ash out of the cigar, never longer than about an inch.

The draw was good and consistent also. And the burn line was generally even, though it did stray a bit. In the final third of one cigar the wrapper did crack, but it didn’t unravel. Overall, I’d say it was a pretty good burn.

The Flavor
The cigar opened up with a nice, rich earthy flavor and took on a sweet grain flavor. (I’m thinking barley here, but I won’t swear to it.) I also noted a good deal of honey sweetness to this third.

In the second third it continued to be be very vegetal. Grain and grass became creamy, almondy, wood and leather a bit further along.

In the final third my notes on the two smokes diverge a bit. In the first it tasted woodier and spicier. In the second I got more of an herbal grain flavor, and a surprise appearance of sweet cherries. A bit later on those cherries tasted more like toffee, but it continued to be sweet.

The Price
There’s no need to drag out the price discussion. Four bucks for a cigar with good flavors and a nice burn isn’t too shabby.

The Verdict
I really enjoyed the second, sweeter one I smoked, but the first wasn’t too bad either. I’d say the Casada Connecticut merits further exploration in the future.

I’d like to thank Tex Cigars again for kindly supplying me with these smokes! If you’re interested in trying these out for yourself, consider giving them your business!

Liked It: Yes
Buy It Again: Yes
Recommend It: Yes

What Other People Are Saying
There have been quite a few reviews of this cigar recently, and the verdicts are all over the place. Here’s a quick sample:

The Cigar In Action
Here for your viewing pleasure is Casada Connecticut Toro being transformed into an attractive pile of ash!

My Other Reviews
As always, be sure to check out my Cigar Review Index for a complete list of my reviews, both on this blog and the other sites I contribute to!

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

6 Comments

  1. November 12, 2007 at 1:49 am

    A very nice review. I’ll have to check my local shop and see if he’s got any.

  2. November 17, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    [...] Casada Connecticut Toro (Brian’s Random Thoughts) [...]

  3. Brian said,

    November 17, 2007 at 10:32 pm

    Thanks cigarsmokingman,
    If you can’t find it locally, you can always try Tex Cigars!

  4. Tex Cigars said,

    November 22, 2007 at 12:25 am

    Ha, watching that cigar burn in action – that’s a brilliant idea! I haven’t seen that yet!

  5. Brian said,

    November 23, 2007 at 9:51 am

    Thanks Tex Cigars! I’m glad you like that. I’m always trying to come up with new and interesting things to add to my cigar reviews!

  6. March 30, 2009 at 11:22 pm

    [...] cheap yet well-performing cigar that, as Brian said, deserves further exploration. Read the full review here… If you enjoyed this article, consider subscribing to the site updates, either in your RSS reader or [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

