Tobacco World Event: Biggest Thing Since RTDA

OK, technically Saturday’s mega herf at Tobacco World in Marietta wasn’t the biggest thing since RTDA (IPCPR). Rumor has it that the Big Smoke in Vegas was bigger. But I’ve always favored the theory that if I didn’t see it, it didn’t happen. (I often wonder if people simply cease to exist when they’re not in my presence. Hey, it’s tough having delusions of grandeur. But at least it’s cozy here at the center of the universe!)

The Tobacco World Guys Running The Show!
Don’t try this at home, they’re professionals!

Mental health issues aside, the event at Tobacco World was awesome. Definitely the biggest thing I’ve been to since RTDA in Houston (pictures, write up), and likely the biggest cigar event in Georgia this year. I’m not sure if it’s a comprehensive list, but the big names I bumped include Rocky Patel, Gilberto Oliva, Nick Perdomo, Erik Espinosa (of 601), Alan Ruben (of Alec Bradley) and Al Argenti (of Cuban Imports).

The Big Boys Posing
The big boys are out in droves!

The most interesting news of the night is the apparent shake up over at Avalon Cigars. As I mentioned in a previous post, I helped Tom Ramsey set up a herf at the local Highland Cigar Company. Well, the word from this event was that Tom is no longer involved with Avalon, and a lady named Tracie Southern is now representing them in the south east. This came as a huge surprise to me, as I thought he was one of the partners in the business.


Local Cigar Reps

Kent, Alec Bradley rep; Tracie, Avalon Cigar rep; Jeff, CAO Rep

The other noteworthy news is about the swag giveaways. There were a ton of them. Swag was raffled off six pieces at a time for hours, with a humidor full of Opus X’s as a grand prize. The noteworthy part was I didn’t win a single thing! I guess my string of good lucks has finally run it’s course. But hey, the event was fun, and I did pick up bunch of great smokes, and met some new people. I definitely picked up some great fodder for some upcoming reviews too!


Rocky Patel and Cigar Rep

Does Rocky Patel ever take a bad picture?

You can check out the entire gallery of pictures from this event here.

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

