Antoni Gaudi’s Barcelona In Pictures 2003

I’ve noticed recently a surprising number of search traffic coming through my blog looking for “Gaudi”. Gaudi, if you didn’t already know is the surname of Antoni Gaudi, a Spanish architect who is responsible from some of the most memorable structures in the world. Many of them located in Barcelona, Spain.

But why on earth am I getting search traffic for Gaudi, you ask? Don’t you pretty much just write cigar reviews? If either of those thoughts came to mind, you have a beautiful, sexy mind. And you’re playing right into my hands. You’re right, I have been spending a lot of time on cigars lately. But I do have other hobbies. Two of them are travel and photography. Back in 2003 I combined all three hobbies and visited Barcelona. You probably didn’t realize it, but if you’ve been reading my blog for a while now, you’ve already seen some Gaudi already:

Antoni Gaudi Sun or Star Mosaic

Look familiar? That’s a Sun (or maybe star) mosaic decoration Gaudi designed into the ceiling of one structure at Park Güell in Barcelona. It also happens to be one of my favorite bits of his work I came across while I was there.

This got me thinking. I have a whole bunch of pictures from that trip, why not give those in search of pictures of Antoni Gaudi’s handy work what they want? After a good deal of searching (and a little terror when I thought they were lost), I found ’em, cropped ’em and polished ’em up to make them blog worthy. Though these pictures were taken with my first digital, 2.1 megapixel camera, they’re still some of my favorites. Hopefully you’ll enjoy them as well!

Antoni Gaudi\'s Casa Batllo

Casa Batlló, one of a number of intriguing building on the Illa de la Discòrdia block in the Eixample district of Barcelona. This was probably my favorite Gaudi building.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Casa Batllo

A closer look at the alien balconies on the Casa Batlló.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Casa Battlo

The oozing lower windows of the Casa Batlló.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Casa Mila

Not too far away is the similarly wavy Casa Milà.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Casa Mila

The Casa Milà from the sidewalk below. Check out that crazy iron work fencing in what looks like a deck.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Casa Mila

The Casa Milà isn’t just wavy on the outside, the walls, windows, doors and even the stairways on the inside of the building are resistant to straight lines. We couldn’t go in much further than this, as the building is currently in use.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Casa Vicens

Casa Vicens couldn’t be more different that the previous two buildings. Not only is it block and full of straight lines, it doesn’t have an interesting accent mark in the name. (Which makes it a lot easier to type.) Looking at this building still makes me want to play checkers or build legos. Or both. Probably while drinking.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Casa Vicens

A view of the side of the Casa Vicens.

Antoni Gaudi Palau Guell

Palau Güell had a strick policy about photography inside the building, but the rooftop was up for grabs. These are a few of the numerous mosaic chimneys decorating the roof. (I think there are something like seven.) Due to the rather narrow side street it opens up to, a shot of the side of the building was all but inpossible, at least with that old camera.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Park Guell Bench

The famous winding bench at Park Güell. This single bench encircles a large open mezzanine-like area overlooking the entrance to the park.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Park Guell Lizard Fountain

A close up of the mosaic lizard fountain on the steps at Park Güell.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Park Guell

One of the little buildings in Park Güell. This building was under construction at the time, but I think it is used for management of the park. Or a tourist gift shop. One or the other.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Park Guell Sign

The sign on the outer wall of Park Güell.

Antoni Guadi\'s Sagrada Familia

The Sagrada Familia is a massive, unfinished cathedral that Gaudi may be best know for. Even though he didn’t finish it in his lifetime, the construction continued. In fact, it’s still under construction today! (Or at least as recently as 2003.)

Antoni Gaudi\'s Sagrada Familia

The Sagrada Familia is designed to be enjoyed. From every angle. It’s just incredible how much thought went into this structure.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Sagrada Familia

Another shot of the spires of Antoni Gaudi’s Sagrada Familia, with the city of Barcelona below.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Sagrada Familia

As I mentioned before, the structure is still under construction. In spite of the cranes, this shot gives you a better idea of what the building looks like as a whole.

Antoni Gaudi\'s Sagrada Familia

Before you get sick of looking at the Sagrada Familia, you gotta check out the facade above one of the door. Each of the main entrances have a different, but equally elaborate scene above them.

Joan Miro\'s Woman and Bird

OK, you got me. This isn’t an Antoni Gaudi creation. This sculpture, named “Woman and Bird” was created by Joan Miro, another (a bit less) famous Spanish artist, who I suspect was at least a bit inspired by Antoni Gaudi. This is also located in Barcelona.

Want to see more? Check our my Antoni Gaudi photography galleries.

Like this post?
Help me out by submitting this to Digg (or vote for it if its already there)!

32 Comments

  1. Joe Drinker said,

    May 15, 2008 at 11:19 am

    Wow…what a collection! I’d think I was in Whoville (or high) if I stepped off the plane and came face to face with those.

  2. Brian said,

    May 15, 2008 at 7:44 pm

    Thanks JD,
    What makes the trip even more interesting was that we also visited a Salvador Dali exhibit while we were there. We were surrounded by oozing stuff all around. I guess” trip” is the right word.

  3. babychaos said,

    May 16, 2008 at 9:32 am

    These are great shots. I haven’t been to Barcelona yet although I feel, with a small one on the way that it’s the ideal place for a weekend break sans baby… when he’s old enough to farm off on my parents at any rate!

    Cracking photos – thanks for sharing them.

    Cheers

    BC

  4. Brian said,

    May 20, 2008 at 10:28 am

    Thanks BC,
    Barcelona is great! If it wasn’t enough that they’ve got some seriously amazing architecture, they also have great food (tapas). You should definitely check it out, you won’t regret it!

    Cheers!

  5. adamcox9 said,

    May 25, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Antoni Gaudi’s architectures are quite amazing. Barcelona, Spain has always been known for very interesting and artistic architectures. Brian, I will definitely put it in my list of things to do to eat food from Barcelona, Spain! I have never been there, but I would like to visit there some day.

  6. Nicole said,

    June 9, 2008 at 11:57 am

    We spent five days in Barcelona and I was absolutely blown away by Gaudi’s work. I’ve never been affected by architecture in that way, but I had a very emotional reaction to it. I can’t wait to go back to La Sagrada Familia in 10 or 20 years just to see what progress has been made. Amazing!

  7. June 30, 2008 at 9:27 am

    I never get tired of looking at Gaudi’s architecture.I’ve been here since the early 90’s and I’m still not bored with it.Lovely pictures.

  8. Nina said,

    September 14, 2008 at 9:43 am

    I like all of Gaudi’s mosaics, they are so colourful and beautiful!

  9. rebbecca said,

    October 6, 2008 at 11:47 am

    WOOOW they are all amazing

  10. Brian said,

    October 22, 2008 at 2:32 pm

    Thanks guys!

  11. jere kezala said,

    October 29, 2008 at 9:49 am

    gaudi’s work shows how unlimited an architect should be in design.

  12. cuzi said,

    October 29, 2008 at 10:12 am

    the power of creativity has showen that gaudi was great architected.viva creactivity!

  13. joey said,

    December 18, 2008 at 8:08 am

    thabk u very much for ur precious blog . gaudi’s works are like a dream …

  14. momtobkandsd said,

    February 11, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    My sister-in-law just visited and posted some photos for my family to see. She has many of the same shots. What she did not have, however, is the information. My children and I were very curious about what we were seeing, and so we had to Google it. Yours was the first site that came up, and thanks to your information, the only we needed to visit for the time being. Nice job!

  15. lalalala said,

    April 23, 2009 at 11:14 am

    nice, i needed some pics for school thanks a lot

  16. daisybug said,

    April 25, 2009 at 8:38 am

    good stuff – great pics and info too!
    helped loads with my project!

    xx

  17. just said,

    May 28, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    I LOVE ANTONIO GAUDI’S PICTURES!

  18. Tom Cullum said,

    July 28, 2009 at 11:41 am

    To whom it may concern,

    I am a Researcher for a television company in the UK called ‘Tiger Aspect Productions’. We are currently making a television series for Channel 4 called “Restoration Man”. The series is presented by Architect, George Clarke, who follows a number of poeple who are restoring derelict properties into their family homes. We’re similar to the ‘Grand Designs’ programme, with the exception that our programme focuses much more on the history of each building, the area it is in and its importance to the local community.

    Every episode contains a number of sections where we animate images to illustrate the history behind each building, making it accessible to the public audience. One of the episodes shows our presenter refer to his architectural heroes in a historical section, one of them being Gaudi. I have come across an image of Gaudi’s Sagrada Familia on your website.

    We would be very interested in using the image in the show. It would be much appreciated if you could contact me via email or on 07920101460. Unfortunately we are not able to pay for the use of images, although, for our part, we are happy to provide you with a (web) credit however this is subject to broadcaster approval and guidelines. Broadcaster approval will not happen until closer to transmission.

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Many thanks,

    Tom Cullum

  19. Antoaneta said,

    August 6, 2009 at 9:22 am

    Hello, Brian. I strongly advise you to read “Barcelona” by Robert Hughes, this brings much understanding about how and why the city became what we see today. It contains a whole chapter about Gaudi’s life and work, for instance Casa Vicens was built earlier under a strong Moorish influence, and even the materials used for the later works relate strongly to its Catalan identity. Gaudi was the most famous, but Puig i Cadafalch and Domenech i Montaner were also amazing architects. Keep up the good work.

  20. Julie said,

    September 23, 2009 at 5:05 pm

    Thanks for sharing the photos. My curiosity was piqued by a library patron who called asking for books about Gaudi. Of course she didn’t have any idea of his first name or how to spell his name so it took me a few minutes to find it. It’s amazing that this futuristic organic looking designs were done at the turn of the century.

  21. roberto menezez said,

    November 30, 2009 at 9:29 am

    gaudi mudou minha vida!!!!

  22. Maria Wiley said,

    February 5, 2010 at 6:12 am

    Great photos! Gaudi’s work is awesome 🙂

  23. Binyam said,

    February 23, 2010 at 12:50 pm

    I doubt this guy is from earth he must be from another planet disguised as human. His work is just brilliant!!!

  24. Traci said,

    March 21, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Hello, my name is Traci, and I am a teacher in San Francisco, California.

    I was searching around and saw this picture of the Gaudi mosaic sun – I was wondering if the photographer would be interested in sending me (as an email attachment) the original high res picture. (So that I may blow it up and print it out for my wall, the photo needs to be 300dpi, for roughly 11×9 inches).
    I lived and taught English in Barcelona for a year straight out of college, but was younger and did not have the best camera to capture my memories in anything high resolution or to blow up into something nice for sentimental reasons. If this is something you would be willing to help me out with, I’d be eternally grateful! As a teacher, I simply can’t afford to fly back to Spain anytime soon to take my own, unfortunately.
    Hope to hear from you, and thank you in advance for the consideration!
    Traci

  25. Marg said,

    March 26, 2010 at 10:35 pm

    Hi There,

    Thanks for sharing your wonderful photographs.

    Some of your Antoni Gaudi traffic may originate from a comment by a very accomplished author on her website. She just mentions to google ‘Antoni Gaudi’ and, as I have just done, I found your site!
    To see what I am referring to, just follow this link and go the the section titled ‘Travels with Diana’.
    http://dianagabaldon.com/
    Travels with Diana: From Lady of the Garrison to Late-Night Sex Fiend
    See paragraph below photo of the piper.

    Thanks again,

    Marg

  26. March 30, 2010 at 2:07 pm

    […] style based on organic and flowing lines.  His buildings are easy to spot in Barcelona.  This blog post has some pictures of Gaudi’s more famous […]

  27. Maurice said,

    May 18, 2010 at 12:34 pm

    wash gro ell déchir ta construction. Jtivite a vnir fair ma maison gro bsx mon pote je taime. big up

  28. October 13, 2011 at 3:07 am

    Totally amazing work…. I read somewhere about Gaudi’s Sun and thought of searching for it… and I landed up here…. thanks a lot for sharing, this amazing blog.

  29. Lorraine said,

    May 1, 2012 at 4:30 am

    Thank you so much for sharing all of this information – Gaudi is one of my two favorite architects – also I enjoy your layout.

  30. signetjensen said,

    May 23, 2012 at 2:13 am

    Great job! Amazing pictures..

  31. September 25, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    […] band in my brain cranked up in Barcelona, Spain when I saw the Gaudi church, La Sagrada […]

  32. Linda Stanley said,

    January 15, 2015 at 8:24 am

    Hi I was thinking of an idea for a quilting completion I am entering this year which all about colour so I searched for gaudi knowing he was a man of colour to give me inspiration, I found your site and would like to say thanks for the photos. Hopefully the old brain will come up with some ideas now.


Leave a comment